We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer drinks take note”
Review of The Crown at Wells

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown at Wells
Ranked #10 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The pub/resturant is nice the food looked good but having had a pint of tribute this is where it went down hill. The beer wasn't very good it was flat and didn't taste that nice. I don't often leave beer but on this occassion I did. I'm sorry to leave a negative comment.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

What a shame you didn't enjoy your beer, we are sorry. Did you mention it while here? We would've been happy to pour another or offer you an alternative. We take great pride in the products we offer behind the bar and getting it spot on for the customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 635 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had an amazing Sunday brunch me and my girlfriend.
We are very impressed about the food sizes, and everything so tasty and well presented also.
Top notch staff.
Definitely we will spread the word to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Oooh, five out of five, thank you so much! We're so pleased you're pleased. Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed in The Crown while looking for a property in the area. Rooms & service excellent. Sara Blair organised the trip for us and Marissa on hotel reception was so helpful with local knowledge & recommendations. highly recommend a stay at The Crown. Mel & Jon

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melliemel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hello Mel and Jon, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We loved having your here and were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We needed a place to stay whilst on a course and found this gem; not only in the beautiful setting for Hot Fuzz but the hospitality, breakfast and bar all ticked the boxes, the photos from the film and history of this small but perfect little hotel made a remote course very warm and welcoming.

Staff stated up past midnight to let me in as I was late leaving work and stuck in traffic, no trouble no hassle just a good evening and sorry to here your journey was longer than expected. Would I stay again YES

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and such a positive review. We're glad everything was as it should be and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were looking for a weekend getaway and we stumbled upon The Crown at Wells and Anton's Bistrot. On arrival we were able to park easily, were greeted warmly at reception and then settled in to our room - no. 9. It was one of the attic rooms and was lovely and cosy! Although the windows are original the room was still warm and welcoming. We had lunch in the Penn bar which was delicious and very reasonably priced. We had booked a dinner for 8pm that evening but decided we wanted to move it to 7, which was done without a fuss by a member of staff. When we did have dinner in the bistrot it was PERFECT! Our starters were lovely and for mains I had the duck from the valentine's special menu and my fiancé had a burger and chips (standard sadly!). Dessert was also spot on. After a comfortable night we had our breakfast in the other end of the bistrot. I thought only a continental breakfast or full English would be available but was pleasantly surprised to see a wider selection including salmon. Toast and tea were brought to us whilst we waited. After checking out we were able to leave our car in the car park, allowing us to explore Wells in the sunshine.

Thank you to everyone at The Crown at Wells for a lovely stay - we will be returning at some point in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saratxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review; we are tickled pink to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown in, hopefully, the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed two nights in this lovely hotel. We wished we could have stayed longer but we were touring Wiltshire, Devon and Somerset and had pre-booked our hotels. Out of five hotels we stayed in, this was certainly the best. Very polite, friendly and helpful staff. Food was excellent and room very comfortable. Ideally situated in the middle of Wells, a stone's throw from the Cathedral, and central for some lovely walks. The hotel car park, particularly as the hotel was right in the centre of the town, was the cherry on the cake. We very much hope to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

What a smashing review, thank you.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at loved The Crown.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again; don't leave it too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was an impulse weekend away - we don't normally do this sort of thing. When my husband phoned to book after finding The Crown on Wells website I was a bit disappointed that they only had a room with single beds but thought so what, we can relive our student youth. The welcome was warm and our bedroom comfortable - lovely cotton sheets, tea, coffee and water provided. When we changed dinner reservation because we found there was a concert in the cathedral there was no problem. Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner especially the generous portions of yummy peasant and the tasty cabbage - yes I am raving about cabbage.
Breakfast was one of the best I have ever eaten and I have been converted to black pudding as an edible substance. I was amazed that my husband needed any lunch.
Loved the location particularly that we were in the commercial heart of town yet by walking through a gate we were in the sacred space of the cathedral green - does this sound a bit Glastonbury?
My husband did say that one of the bar stuff was a bit 'off' on Saturday evening which surprised him as everyone else was so polite and helpful. I did hear some clanking from the market at some ungodly hour of the morning but we had been warned and earplugs were provided. We are coming back to Wells in a couple of months for another frivolous weekend away doing a singing workshop and are both looking forward to returning to the Crown.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MaryO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for such a super review. We're so pleased you were so pleased with your stay and meals with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and hopefully we'll have a double room available next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,053 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#35 of 37 in Wells
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $124 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing