We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely return”
Review of The Crown at Wells

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown at Wells
Ranked #10 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed two nights in this lovely hotel. We wished we could have stayed longer but we were touring Wiltshire, Devon and Somerset and had pre-booked our hotels. Out of five hotels we stayed in, this was certainly the best. Very polite, friendly and helpful staff. Food was excellent and room very comfortable. Ideally situated in the middle of Wells, a stone's throw from the Cathedral, and central for some lovely walks. The hotel car park, particularly as the hotel was right in the centre of the town, was the cherry on the cake. We very much hope to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

What a smashing review, thank you.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at loved The Crown.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again; don't leave it too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 635 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was an impulse weekend away - we don't normally do this sort of thing. When my husband phoned to book after finding The Crown on Wells website I was a bit disappointed that they only had a room with single beds but thought so what, we can relive our student youth. The welcome was warm and our bedroom comfortable - lovely cotton sheets, tea, coffee and water provided. When we changed dinner reservation because we found there was a concert in the cathedral there was no problem. Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner especially the generous portions of yummy peasant and the tasty cabbage - yes I am raving about cabbage.
Breakfast was one of the best I have ever eaten and I have been converted to black pudding as an edible substance. I was amazed that my husband needed any lunch.
Loved the location particularly that we were in the commercial heart of town yet by walking through a gate we were in the sacred space of the cathedral green - does this sound a bit Glastonbury?
My husband did say that one of the bar stuff was a bit 'off' on Saturday evening which surprised him as everyone else was so polite and helpful. I did hear some clanking from the market at some ungodly hour of the morning but we had been warned and earplugs were provided. We are coming back to Wells in a couple of months for another frivolous weekend away doing a singing workshop and are both looking forward to returning to the Crown.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MaryO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for such a super review. We're so pleased you were so pleased with your stay and meals with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and hopefully we'll have a double room available next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited Wells to meet with a rescue dog, and used The Crown as our base.
The hotel was on the Market Place, and could not be more central, was very clean, war, and friendly and all the staff were really flexible, even though the hotel and restaurants were always busy.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank philip_holmes_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your short but sweet review.
Look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great location, but very poor room, too small, window glass cracked, a price written on everything even a water bottle £5.00!!! Great if it was half the price, the standard of the hotel did NOT warrant the amount of money however was very central, great location.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hodgkison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

We are sorry to hear, on Trip Advisor, that you were unhappy with your room at The Crown.

Did you mention it during your stay? We may've been able to sort an alternative so you left happier.

Our rates are very competitive at £95 per night per room, inclusive of breakfast, sorry you don't agree.

We do have prices on some things, not "everything", as guests often like to take home a souvenir of their stay.

The price of a water bottle for £5 is for a glass bottle and matches the cost we are charged from our supplier. Many guests are happy with this and buy them to take home or as a gift.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I visited this pub/bistro on Sunday 15th December at approx 2pm. There were 5 adults and 1 child in our party. Very warm interior and exterior although to me it looked like a nice pub not a bistro. We chose our food and myself and my partner went to the bar and ordered for everyone. We all had soup and 1 turkey 1 beef 1 seabass and a half portion if beef for the child. We also ordered the pork but were told this was all gone so we happily changed that to another turkey.
We ordered and paid at the bar for food and drinks. Our soups arrived promptly and I have to say it was lovely. It was mushroom soup but had a lovely peppered flavour. Very nice. I should also mention the barman we ordered off was very nice. This is where our visit soured a little. Our mains arrived for us all except my partner who had ordered the turkey.
I politely got the waitresses attention and made her aware of this.she said she would check. She then returned with a receipt for our dinner(we did not receive a receipt) and said there wasn't a turkey dinner on the receipt for my partner. When I again politely said we did order it because she was going to get the pork and had to change because there was no pork, the waitress bluntly replied " well the receipt doesn't lie" and walked off before I could answer her. She was basically saying we had lied about the order.
Another much more polite gentleman came to us and apologised for the mistake and said a turkey dinner would be out to us ASAP but we would have to pay for it as it wasn't on the original receipt. That was fine WE WERE NOT LOOKING FOR ANYTHING FOR FREE as the waitress had replied. We now began our main course as my partner waited for about 10 mins for hers to arrive. The turkey was of extremely poor quality. Tasteless rubbery food which felt like it had been microwaved.
My partners then arrived. Again the turkey was awful and was one slice covering bits of turkey as if it was the last portion. Her veg were rock hard also. I love al Dante veg but these were raw.
I don't like complaining and have given fair praise where it was due but the attitude of the waitress and quality of food was awful. Would appreciate a reply from manager/owner on this matter.
To sum up it seems to be a country pub that thinks it's a bistro but some if it's staff and food lets it down. So disappointing as the town of wells was very charming and we will return to the town again but will avoid this pub which is a pity

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We were so sorry to hear of your poor experience. We have spoken with the member of staff who was rude and apologise.
Your experience of our food was not the norm and again, we're sorry.
We have contacted you directly and hope you will visit us again soon in order that we can remedy your experience at The Crown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a good room with Cathedral views in Wells , Somerset. The bar food was very good as was the Meal in Anton's Bistro.
The hotel has a good ambience, but access was difficult during Market Day. (Wednesday and Saturday) to the Car Park.
This is a working Pub, so could be a little noisy at times.
The staff were friendly, but sometimes, preoccupied.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and eats with us. Apologies if the staff may've seem a little preoccupied at times, we'll remedy that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This belongs now to our most favourite places we have stayed. We stayed in Room No 8, and it is the most cutest room. Its the attic, so plenty of corners and beams and a step within the room. I clabbed my hands in delight when I opened the door and saw the room. It has been really quiet too (Saturday night in the middle of a city!) The Inn is so exciting too, as all rooms are different. Our room had a view of the roof, so if you are after a nice city view, you might want to choose another room.

Also, top marks for the bed that has white 100% cotton bed linen, almost a rarity elsewhere. Altogether a most comfortable and unforgettable stay. The usual things as mentioned by other guests are provided, hairdryer and even a portable heater, which is not needed. Other people mentioned that it was difficult to heat the towel radiator. Hmm, there is a on/off switch next to it. The shower has a good pressure, and its turned on by turning the knob. This place is history with all modern amenities.

The staff is very friendly. The breakfast was very good, lots of fresh fruit. (We don't have cooked breakfasts, so we really appreciated the great selection of fruit and so on). We are looking forward to be back soon, next time with mother in law.

Room Tip: No 8, is a cute quiet attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwayslookingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We love it that you love The Crown almost as much as we do; thanks for such a super review.
Do stay again and we'll do our best to find you a room where you can gaze upon Wells and watch the world go by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,053 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#35 of 37 in Wells
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $124 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing