We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surviving off the back of HOT FUZZ.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Ranked #11 of 40 Wells B&B and Inns
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surviving off the back of HOT FUZZ.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great location, but very poor room, too small, window glass cracked, a price written on everything even a water bottle £5.00!!! Great if it was half the price, the standard of the hotel did NOT warrant the amount of money however was very central, great location.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hodgkison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are sorry to hear, on Trip Advisor, that you were unhappy with your room at The Crown.

Did you mention it during your stay? We may've been able to sort an alternative so you left happier.

Our rates are very competitive at £95 per night per room, inclusive of breakfast, sorry you don't agree.

We do have prices on some things, not "everything", as guests often like to take home a souvenir of their stay.

The price of a water bottle for £5 is for a glass bottle and matches the cost we are charged from our supplier. Many guests are happy with this and buy them to take home or as a gift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    199
    72
    48
    24
See reviews for
91
302
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I visited this pub/bistro on Sunday 15th December at approx 2pm. There were 5 adults and 1 child in our party. Very warm interior and exterior although to me it looked like a nice pub not a bistro. We chose our food and myself and my partner went to the bar and ordered for everyone. We all had soup and 1 turkey 1 beef 1 seabass and a half portion if beef for the child. We also ordered the pork but were told this was all gone so we happily changed that to another turkey.
We ordered and paid at the bar for food and drinks. Our soups arrived promptly and I have to say it was lovely. It was mushroom soup but had a lovely peppered flavour. Very nice. I should also mention the barman we ordered off was very nice. This is where our visit soured a little. Our mains arrived for us all except my partner who had ordered the turkey.
I politely got the waitresses attention and made her aware of this.she said she would check. She then returned with a receipt for our dinner(we did not receive a receipt) and said there wasn't a turkey dinner on the receipt for my partner. When I again politely said we did order it because she was going to get the pork and had to change because there was no pork, the waitress bluntly replied " well the receipt doesn't lie" and walked off before I could answer her. She was basically saying we had lied about the order.
Another much more polite gentleman came to us and apologised for the mistake and said a turkey dinner would be out to us ASAP but we would have to pay for it as it wasn't on the original receipt. That was fine WE WERE NOT LOOKING FOR ANYTHING FOR FREE as the waitress had replied. We now began our main course as my partner waited for about 10 mins for hers to arrive. The turkey was of extremely poor quality. Tasteless rubbery food which felt like it had been microwaved.
My partners then arrived. Again the turkey was awful and was one slice covering bits of turkey as if it was the last portion. Her veg were rock hard also. I love al Dante veg but these were raw.
I don't like complaining and have given fair praise where it was due but the attitude of the waitress and quality of food was awful. Would appreciate a reply from manager/owner on this matter.
To sum up it seems to be a country pub that thinks it's a bistro but some if it's staff and food lets it down. So disappointing as the town of wells was very charming and we will return to the town again but will avoid this pub which is a pity

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We were so sorry to hear of your poor experience. We have spoken with the member of staff who was rude and apologise.
Your experience of our food was not the norm and again, we're sorry.
We have contacted you directly and hope you will visit us again soon in order that we can remedy your experience at The Crown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a good room with Cathedral views in Wells , Somerset. The bar food was very good as was the Meal in Anton's Bistro.
The hotel has a good ambience, but access was difficult during Market Day. (Wednesday and Saturday) to the Car Park.
This is a working Pub, so could be a little noisy at times.
The staff were friendly, but sometimes, preoccupied.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and eats with us. Apologies if the staff may've seem a little preoccupied at times, we'll remedy that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This belongs now to our most favourite places we have stayed. We stayed in Room No 8, and it is the most cutest room. Its the attic, so plenty of corners and beams and a step within the room. I clabbed my hands in delight when I opened the door and saw the room. It has been really quiet too (Saturday night in the middle of a city!) The Inn is so exciting too, as all rooms are different. Our room had a view of the roof, so if you are after a nice city view, you might want to choose another room.

Also, top marks for the bed that has white 100% cotton bed linen, almost a rarity elsewhere. Altogether a most comfortable and unforgettable stay. The usual things as mentioned by other guests are provided, hairdryer and even a portable heater, which is not needed. Other people mentioned that it was difficult to heat the towel radiator. Hmm, there is a on/off switch next to it. The shower has a good pressure, and its turned on by turning the knob. This place is history with all modern amenities.

The staff is very friendly. The breakfast was very good, lots of fresh fruit. (We don't have cooked breakfasts, so we really appreciated the great selection of fruit and so on). We are looking forward to be back soon, next time with mother in law.

Room Tip: No 8, is a cute quiet attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayslookingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We love it that you love The Crown almost as much as we do; thanks for such a super review.
Do stay again and we'll do our best to find you a room where you can gaze upon Wells and watch the world go by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with husband and daughter in a family room (four poster and a sofa bed) for one night. Room wasn't huge and the ceiling was really low at the doorway; Watch out, I nearly knocked myself out! We were also above the bar which was quite noisy, but it was a Saturday night so thought it would be. The food in the restaurant was fantastic! Best steak I've ever had and the staff were very attentive. Would definitely recommend it, but if you are staying with children maybe ask for a different room.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TallulahSEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Ouch, sorry you missed our Mind Your Head warnings! Entrance low, yes, but then the ceiling height gets higher; as you say, olde worlde.
Do come again and we'll do our best to give you a room with a less potentially hazardous entrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

A nice welcoming place especially the staff just wanted a sandwich as eating later that day impressed with what we had and also their grip of Gluten Free which ensured my wife had a very enjoyable sandwich on GF bread well done guys. Love to go back and try the restaurant but regrettably not in town long

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Come again, stay longer and we'll see what else our chef can come up that's gluten-free - he's great like that!
Thanks for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed at the Crown on Monday night to break the journey from St Ives back to Doncaster. Had booked a 4 poster bed with spa bath, however, the room just had a large shower. Reception very helpful and although they only had one room with four poster and spa bath they allowed us to look and it and change if we wanted to, as I actually liked the look of the room we had been allocated at first. Decided to stick to the original room and give the spa bath a miss, the bathroom was lovely with shower as well, but no comfy seats in the room.

Our room (room 2) was at the front of the hotel. overlooking the market place. Didnt get any disturbance from outside, but even though it was a Monday night the noise from the bar was very loud! Guests are warned about this before booking though and ear plugs are provided. When booking guests are also told the bar closes promptly and staff leave by 11.30pm weekdays and 12midnight weekends, this is true and so the noise after that time stops altogether.

Room spacious, cold on arrival but we were able to use an electric heater until the heating "clicked" on and then no problems. Decor in keeping with the age of building, four poster bed looked good but was really uncomfortable and when I turned over I could feel the wood beneath, definately needs a better mattress. Couldnt work out how to turn the towel rail on and off and had even more difficulty with the shower, although it was all singing, all dancing it didnt come with instructions!

We ate in Anton's Bistrot and the food was lovely and good value. £9.95 for two courses and £12.95 for three courses. Breakfast was lovely and had a really good choice. Service good.

Location fantastic with a lovely view from the bedroom window.

Would probably return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilloandkevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Would probably return, you say. Gone on, then we hope it'll be excellent next time!
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for posting to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Property: The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells & Anton's Bistrot Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing