We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Salad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Ranked #10 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“No Salad”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our first visit and having travelled for some time we needed a light lunch to revive us before we embarked on our tour of Wells.

It was rather crowded but we were able to just get a table. I went to get drinks and order some food at the bar and asked if I might have a plain salad (as I have a food allergy) plus a sandwich for my husband , but was told that they could not do salad without dressing as they were too busy. I have to say that the barman was apologetic but I cannot understand why it was impossible to fulfil such a simple request.

Realizing that my husband needed a break I ordered the drinks and a sandwich and no food for myself. When I returned to the table with the drinks my husband was incensed and said that I should not have ordered anything.

Wells was very beautiful but I won’t be returning to the Crown next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We can only apologise. This clearly should not have happened. Terribly sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    212
    78
    54
    27
See reviews for
101
321
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my partners 50th birthday. We arrived the evening before market day and as such parking was compact, however were assured that by leaving our keys in reception everything would be sorted out for us by the morning. Watching a game musical cars over breakfast was very entertaining but pleased to say it was all done with care and diligence. Our room (No8) had no view as it was at the back of the building, which was a little disappointing but the room itself more than made up for it with its quirkiness, and was very comfortable and quiet. The food was superb both at breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was huge and very tasty with the obvious use of local produce and homemade hash browns being a hit. We had a birthday dinner in Anton's bistro which was nothing short of divine, with everything being cooked to order there was a bit of a wait but this was not an inconvenience as the atmosphere was very pleasant. There was a birthday card and handmade chocolates waiting for my partner at the table which was a lovely gesture. Friendly staff, good food and a comfortable bed makes me thoroughly recommend this hotel for a short break, (any longer and I'd have been 20 stone by the time I checked out!!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your super review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure having you. Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
266 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good sizeable room (no 3) with 4 poster bed, jacuzzi bath and large shower.

Meal was good: we both had a nice piece of swordfish, and my wife had a carrot and orange soup to start. Good house wine and friendly service from the staff who let us use their computer as the (free) wi-fi was down.

Parking, though small, is right in the town centre. Our room overlooked the square and was a little noisy at "chucking out"

Breakfast was the usual mix of buffet style and hot cooked and everything was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review; glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in The Crown for three nights in July 2013. Our room overlooking the market square was furbished in a traditional style and was comfortable, featuring complimentary spring water which was renewed daily and generous coffee and tea facilities. There was quite some noise from the market square in the early morning, but for us that was not too disturbing. It might be to other guests, though.The bathroom was very small, which resulted in the washing stand being located in the room itself. For some guests it might be too small to easily manoeuvre in. Breakfast was nice, staff friendly, and the location in Wells absolutely marvelous. The only negative part of our stay was dinner in Anton's Bistrot. The menu looked quite promising, which is why we decided to dine there, but the food that was served did not meet our expectations as it was not creative, unappealing, and not very tasty. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a short stay, but would add the advice not to eat at Anton's Bistrot.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us overall but what a pity you couldn't say the same of your meal. We are a little surprised - we have just won two awards for our food - did you mention your disappointment while here?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were staying in Wells and decided to eat at the Crown one night, we found a good table inside with a clear view as we like to people watch. The seating is a bit shabby, one of the bench seats had very torn material, but then it is the end of the season so perhaps a refurb is in the offing. The meals were tasty, salad a bit floppy, my husband had the belly of pork which was fab. Good range of drinks. All in all we had a good evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didavkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Good to hear you enjoyed your meal and evening with us. We hope to refurb in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We weren't sure whether the hotel had rustic charm or was in need of upgrade. It has a AA 4* listing displayed. It isn't. Three stars would be much nearer the mark
The breakfasts were excellent ; probably the best ever!
The breakfast croissants, butter etc were left uncovered. Not good when its summer with flies.
The meals are expensive. Nobody seems to want to offer any real competitively priced meals; its almost standard prices throughout Wells - which is expensive.
The cathedral bells chime round the clock, which wasn't a problem and very nice to experience.
The market set up outside the bedroom window was undertaken sympathetically to the residents sleeping nearby.
There is a daily collection of rubbish by the council, which has to be undertaken before the small City becomes busy. This was awful.
The accommodation should have been about £10-20 per night less
The rooms were always tidy/clean with some nice personal touches
The staff are all very pleasant and helpful.
Car keys need to be left with the staff as there is a small car park for residents

Room Tip: It's quieter at the back not overlooking the market square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We were awarded 4 stars by the AA. We're an inn, not an hotel and are graded thus.
We're glad, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. We are competitively priced, both on food and accommodation.
The price of our meals is reflected in the quality and the local produce we source. We have recently won two pretigious awards for our meals.
You're right about the croissants being uncovered and thanks for flagging this up; did you mention it while here too?
Sorry you were disturbed by noise from the market place; did you not find the earplugs sufficient?
We are pleased you found our staff to be as lovely as they are, appreciated the personal touches in the rooms - above and beyond a 3 star! - and enjoyed breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuvolento, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in Wells for three nights in August and had dinner at The Crown for two nights in a row. The Cheese burger is absolutely delicious! They have good Ales as well.
If you're in Wells just pop in for a few drinks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank dindon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your glowing, mouth-watering review and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#35 of 37 in Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Property: The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells & Anton's Bistrot Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing