We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown at Wells
Nearby Hotels
$94
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)(Wells)(Great Value!)
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wookey Hole Hotel(Wookey Hole)(Great Value!)
$71
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$130
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Glastonbury(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
$50
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveler rating
236
264
104
58
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
264
104
58
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanton's bistrothot fuzzmarket squarethe pubpenn baroverlooking the market placeham egg and chipsfour postercar parksunday lunchold buildinglovely mealsaturday marketbishop's palacebreakfast was excellentstayed here for one nightwell worth a visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
569 - 574 of 699 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My teenage son asked that we dine here as the exterior was used in the film hot fuzz. We ate off an early bird menu which made for a relativity cheap meal which we enjoyed.the hotel its self has an ideal location in the middle of Wells.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please tell your son Edgar Wright's new film, The World's End, was inspired by an ill-fated pub crawl in Wells when he was in his late teens. His local was The Crown. Reason to come again?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

we only came by coach to wells for the day and it rained all the time we were there so we went in and had a roast dinner and it was very good and not expensive the staff were friendly the hotel is in the middle of the city. when we are visit the city again we will have another roast dinner

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jwh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your roast with us. All our meat is locally sourced. Sorry about the weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Loved this hotel. Its in the centre of Wells so a little noisy at times but then I choose the room at the front - it was bound to be noisy especially on market day. But thats part of its charm. Wells isn't a museum its a working town full of interesting shops and things to see. The Hotel is charming. The staff warm and friendly in a casual way. Full of laughs and 'yes, of course'. By the end of the first night the barman had recommended several places to visit (this after he had clearly had a very busy day) and was printing out directions unasked. The next evening he was off duty but we still ended up chatting in the bar. Its that kind of place, The Crown and Wells, everyone is friendly. The food we had was really good and we weren't the only people to think this. The bar was busy each evening with people eating. Both the lamb tasting platter and the cheeseboard were delicious. Breakfast is the kind where your table is allocated and you order exactly what you want. And it arrives, cooked perfectly and delicious.
Definitely would return when I'm next down south.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwentyTreesGallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Such a lovely review, thank you.
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and 'get' us.
Look forward to next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Having book a stay in Wells,at another Hotel,wished we had booked here,we needed supper,and Anton's was brilliant.The choice of menu and service was excellent and the Pricing was to good to be true..but it was!!Next visit will be here.

Room Tip: Its location on a corner of the street,so roooms at the back maybe.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank quilter48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Ooh, we wish you'd stayed here too - we're very competitively priced!
Glad you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you for longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here, but had a meal here. The steaks were full of taste and not too expensive. This is very close to both cathedral and bishops palace and just around the corner from vicars close the oldest habital street. Keep a ear out for the toen cryer at 11. 00am

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LondonPuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your steaks. We do source the best local produce and the quality is reflected in the dish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews