We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice enough if you HAVE to stay in Wells”
Review of The Crown at Wells

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown at Wells
Ranked #10 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2013

this is a strange one.....outside of hotel was rather run down and reception (when they did materialise) not very welcoming. My heart sank a little so I consoled myself "oh well, I am only here for a night". However, they did 'upgrade' me and I found the room perfectly adequate...bed OK, bathroom acceptable, toiletries nice......maybe a little noisy....I think there was a bar in the courtyard just below me.

Off I went to look around Wells and the hotel is, indeed, very central. The Cathedral and Green are lovely but the rest of the town.....!!! It looked like the location for one of those gritty black and white films made in the 60,s by, say, John Schlesinger and featuring an unwanted pregnancy somewhere 'oop North....not nice, very depressing.

Quite a nice dinner back at the hotel but both town and hotel are, I think, strictly for passing through.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Well, we are sorry you disliked The Crown and Wells so much. Firstly, The Crown is not an hotel, we are an inn and market ourselves thus.
We are sorry you thought The Crown to be "rather run down". We do continue to refurbish this beautiful 15th century inn.
As for Wells, it is the location for Hot Fuzz, Elizabeth the Golden Age, to name but two. It is a lovely City, not run down and certainly not on a par with a gritty 60s drama. There are many independent shops and even on a grey day, weather wise. It is not depressing and the number of visitors we have to the City and, indeed, people moving to Wells,bears testimony to that. Pity it wasn't your 'cup of tea'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 670 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

First impression was good, the receptionist friendly and welcoming. Our room however was not a 4 star standard... peeling paint and wallpaper, z bed stored under our bed, shower had very little pressure and had mildew on the wobbly sliding door. Poor quality toilet roll. Bath mat hidden behind toilet. On venturing into the bar we found staff sat eating and not very attentive. We ate in antons and were served by the receptionist but must say the food and service was amazing
After a poor nights sleep due to the noise from the bar below we made our way back into antons for a lovely breakfast.
Although we both enjoyed our meals i feel the cost of our room was too high and would not return unless the price was reduced cosiderably... my wife is a head housekeeper in a prestigious 14th century 4 star hotel which doesnt charge as much and has many more facilities in the bedrooms

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampingCrazy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed during your stay with us at The Crown. We are not a four star hotel, we are a four star inn. The elements you mentioned that may be addressed have been, thank you. Our room rate is very competitive given the location, free parking, etc.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and breakfast with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

on checking in i was really pleased with the look of the building and the greeting we had from staff was great even though it was really busy. once in our room i was really pleased that it was very clean and warm as it was snowing outside. our bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and felt moved to share it with others. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Lovely and friendly in the bar. Disappointed with the food. I had a pork chop and mash, no veg, no offer of veg when i asked does it come with it. No crackling just soft fat on the chop and small amount of potato.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal; did you mention it when you were here? Our menu does state - All dishes listed above are served with one side dish of your choice: Chips, Mashed Potato, Dauphinoise Potato, Saffron Rice, Baby Carrots, Green Beans or Salad. We are sorry the crackling was not up to our usual standard.
We are always keen to hear customer feedback and it's really useful if diners let us know of any issues while they are here in order that we may rectify them and so leave happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

As residents of Wells we have tried most of the local eating establishments over the years. Anton's Bistro has within the past year proved to be one of the best value for money, particularly if you go for one of the special menu deals. We have just come in from a delightful meal which was well presented and all piping hot. The choices from four dishes in each course catered for most tastes, we were welcomed by the Manager and a cheerful log fire and served by a pleasant young lady. We were not expecting Cordon Bleu food for the price but although fairly basic we have paid far more in so-called up market restaurants and I have never before been motivated to record our experience. We prefer to sit at the front area of the Crown Hotel rather than in the Bistro at the rear because of the ambience but the prices are the same. We shall certainly be dining there again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

just popped in for a pre dinner drink or 2! but very welcoming, cosy and as quite busy had to wait for a coffee for my daughter but gave her the choice of free cake as an apology, great customer service! :-) will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your review; we're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to the bar and look forward to welcoming you back again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We've eaten in this restaurant before and have enjoyed the quality of the food. However, when we took a senior member of our family for a Christmas lunch on Christmas Eve we were extremely disappointed, especially since we'd driven from Devon.

Two of us had beef and another turkey (with all the trimmings). What the trimmings amounted to we weren't sure although maybe they refer to a cracker for each of us and one balloon to share. There was no stuffing with the turkey and our vegetables were miserable, amounting to bullet brussels sprouts (which were inedible) sliced carrots and a couple of re-heated roast potatoes. Neither the beef, nor the turkey tasted of anything, the beef being especially bland and rubbery in texture and there was no bread sauce, sausages nor Yorkshire puddings.

If it hadn't been for the lovely (but reheated and tough round the edges) Christmas pudding and the smiley staff, our meal would have been a disaster. In fact, if these meals were cooked freshly I'd eat my hat, if I didn't think I'd already done so.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank susienal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Oh dear, we were so sorry to read your review and just wish you'd said something while you were here so that we could've fixed things.
All of our Christmas meals should've come with all the trimmings, as you rightly say and, as I say, we are sorry we did not have an opportunity to let you leave on a more positive note.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,076 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
351 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crossways
The Crossways
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $125 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing