We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of The Crown at Wells

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown at Wells
Ranked #10 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in Wells to visit some friends. I made the mistake of assuming that with the proximity of Babington House, that there would be some boutique hotels here. The places to stay are much more traditional than this - the sort of B&B that seems not to have changed in 30 years.

If that is what you are expecting, then you won't be disappointed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom more than suitable. The breakfast tasted good and there was plenty of variety on the menu.

The whole place is probably due a makeover and it made me feel that I spent a little more than I would have preferred to. I would have been happy to spend GBP 80 but GBP 115 seemed very steep, seeing that I stayed in central Paris just this week for about GBP 85.

Room Tip: We quite liked room three - spacious and at the front of the building. Not much sound protection in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bermondsey_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

You're right, we are not Babington House nor a boutique hotel and have no illusions there either. We are a 15th century coaching inn. We pride ourselves on friendly service, relaxed atmosphere in comfortable surroundings, with great food.

Not sure how one could compare our room rate with those of Paris. Our rates are very competitive, particularly considering our central location, breakfast included in the rate, as well as free parking and free Wifi. The room you stayed in was a four poster, our double/twin rooms are £95.00 per night.

As a 15th century inn, we do not consider a makeover appropriate - it would not be in-keeping with our character - but we do maintain and decorate rooms regularly - certainly more often than every 30 years.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 635 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Crown in Wells is a fantastic 15th Century Inn that has bags of character and great location on the market square.
My wife and I stayed there on a Friday night as we had an event in Shepton Mallet to go to on the Saturday. We booked last minute so they only had a twin room remaining. We were accompanied by our dog.
Crown is right in the centre of Wells and is ideally located. It had its own small car park which for a town centre hotel is a bonus. Some cars have to park by blocking others in but the hotel holds all car keys and seem to react promptly to requests to move cars.
The Staff were outstanding and so friendly and you felt that nothing was too much trouble. We ate in Antons Bistro and the food was excellent and the atmosphere was superb.
Breakfast was also well cooked and served quickly. Staff were again prompt and polite and brought extra tea, toast etc as we requested.
It was good to be able to bring our dog, who was welcomed, and the man on reception was helpful, telling me the best place to walk her in the morning.
Room 10 was a good size and well equipped. The shower was very good and beds comfortable. Windows are old and slightly drafty but again this is expected in a hotel of such age and character. The heating means the rooms are warm despite this.
The market did start setting up around 5am;which I understand it does on Wednesday and Saturday mornings; but after an intial wake up by the noise my wife and I both went back to sleep for a couple more hours. This is a small down side of having such a central location and in fact the market looked worth a visit.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Crown as somewhere to stay and the staff were amongst the nicest and friendliest I have come across
Would definitely stay here again: highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHU10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review - you have us to a tee. We look forward to you coming again and please do use the earplugs we supply so you aren't woken unnecessarily by the market next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at The Crown 33 years ago for our honeymoon, we re-visited for coffee a couple of years back and then this year decided to stay just after Easter. We wanted to escape work, not think, just relax and enjoy being together ... and that's exactly what we did.
The atmosphere, the comfort and most importantly, the staff are great. We loved the food and totally recommend eating in, the menus in both the bar and the restaurant are truly wonderful and the quality encourages far too much eating - don't bother if you're on a diet!!
The front rooms are great as others have said, so do believe all the good stuff that's been written.
Enjoy your stay, we loved ours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter on Tuesday nights as the market sets up at 5am on Wednesday mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneS139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyCamperSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you for your delightful review. We're always pleased to hear such positive reviews and thank you for sharing it with everyone. Don't leave it so long before you come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed there over the Easter weekend and really liked it. Had the top floor room overlooking the market place. The room is spacious and full character. The view from the room is that of the marin street leading up to the cathedral/bishop's palace. There is a street market there every Saturday morning. So can be a bit noisy early on the Saturday morning but it was something I was aware of prior to booking and the noise wasn't that loud to be perfectly honest. The shower is tiny but again it's been mentioned by other reviewers before. The highlight of the hotel has to be the restaurant. The breakfast is lovely and I had dinner two nights that I was there and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbb1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyCamperSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

What a super review, thank you. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the food in Anton's too. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed for one night and we were glad we did. A lovely hotel in the heart of Wells with its own parking. This hotel in an excellent place to stay if you want to visit the Cathedral or just have a walk around wells. The room we had overlooked the market square and was very comfortable. We decided to eat at the hotel and we were so glad we did. The food was exceptional and we'll definitely stop by again in the future. Breakfast was also very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Market day can be noisy early in the morning, so bare this in mind when selecting your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyCamperSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for such a glowing review. We do provide free ear plugs to help with any potential disturbance from noise outside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a very reasonably priced hotel in the heart of Wells, with parking, nice bar, attached restaurant and handy for looking round Wells. The accommodation is good and reasonably priced and the staff are friendly and helpful. All in all a great place to stay with the added benefit of Hot Fuss being filmed there !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyCamperSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for such a stunning review. Hope you'll come and see us again soon.
p.s. ear plugs provided to help with any potential noise disturbance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We happened across this inn when we were visiting Wells Abbey. The inn is very centrally located right next to the abbey and centre of Wells. Parking, wi-fi and breakfast are included in the reasonable accommodation rate.

Our room (no 1) looked over the carpark and was above Penn Bar but we did not hear very much noise at all even though it was a busy Thursday night. The room was spacious with a four poster bed, complimentary bottled water and a 2 person sofa. The bathroom was generous, shower gave out good pressure and shampoo, conditioner, bath gel and hand wash were provided from a local supplier and were of good quality.

If you would like to eat dinner at the inn there were two options, Anton’s Bstrot or the more relaxed Penn Bar. We ate dinner at the Penn bar and it was very tasty, reasonably priced and staff were friendly and pleasant. One of our party is a vegetarian and there were a variety of options available.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant area with a variety of juices, cereals, fruit, punnets of yoghurt and hot options were served to order. Serving staff were very polite and we didn’t have to wait long for our cooked breakfast which was a generous serving with the eggs just as we had asked for them.

Given the proximity to the abbey and centre of town The Crown is very convenient and affordable.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank greatimes4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyCamperSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,053 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#35 of 37 in Wells
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $124 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing