We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in town...”

The Courtyard Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are locally family run restaurant with local frendly staff. We have been hear for 9 years, 8 years as café piano, but we have no longer have a piano so we just changed the name to The courtyard restaurant. We just want you to have a great time with afordable food
Well, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best value in town...”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We go fairly regularly for Sunday lunch at this venue. Food and service is always excellent and the pianist suitably understated. We have visited with young (well behaved) children on more than one occasion and always made to feel welcome. Food always of high standard even for the 2 or 3 course offers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    74
    20
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Really love this restaurant, the staff are amazing but two of them in particular that have been there for years never fail to make the evening memorable, one extremely friendly young woman and one very charming young man with an amazing talent to entertain, his voice is so good. Thanks café piano we're back again in two weeks!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An enjoyable & atmospheric, family run bistro-cafe.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Well, we chose the Cafe Piano explicitly because of its Trip Advisor reviews & it didn't disappoint.

Tucked away down an alleyway, we'd never have chosen this little place if we weren't on the look out for it, which would have been our loss.

Although we had phoned to reserve mid afternoon, no inside tables were available so we sat outside; it was a glorious summer evening so this wasn't a problem in any way!

The staff, particularly Emily & Anna, were attentive & polite and we were served promptly.

Our only criticism is that the menu on offer let the place down a smidge; choice was relatively limited & a touch old fashioned - prawn cocktails, melon fans & a roast nut cutlet as the main veggie dish felt a touch 80s.....

Menu aside though, the food was presented & cooked well & tasted delicious. Highlights were the moules & the prawns; fresh & cooked to perfection.

At £15 a bottle - any bottle - wine was well priced too.

As mentioned, the atmosphere was great & I must say a huge thank you to the resident Rat Packer Mike for indulging me at the end of the evening!

So all in all, a well-priced, atmospheric & musical bistro-cafe that was really well-run by the family who own & run it in a most-hands-on manner. We would certainly return, but would be tempted back even quicker by a slight (& contemporary) menu makeover.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This little restaurant is excellent, the food is superb, the staff are very nice and also efficient and it is very good value for money.
We ate there one night and returned the next.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A caff not a restaurant”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

On a day trip to Wells had lunch at Piano Cafe. On the plus side, the ladies serving us were efficient and pleasant. However, the food was very poor. Ordered two starters and a main dish. The pate starter was three slices of store bought terrine, served on a few wilted pieces of lettuce, smeared with cranberry sauce, accompanied by one a slice of orange curled at the corner, a slice of red pepper and a slice of red onion. The avocado and prawn starter consisted of a few minuscule tinned or frozen translucent tasteless shrimps, on the same bed of lettuce, smothered in Marie rose sauce, with a small half of asparagus, with the same garnishes as the pate starter - with the difference that the citrus fruit was a lemon. Very 70s retro. The main dish was salmon with shrimps and crab. On the plate was a very small portion of salmon with the same tiny shrimps, covered by an unidentifiable brown liquid. Side dish was a few properly cooked vegetables. All this was served with store bought basic rolls. There is no wine list. The white wine choice was a Pinot Grigio or Sauvignon Blanc. We had to add ice to the wine as it was lukewarm. The decor is bleak, basic square tables, torn black banquette, on laminate flooring. The patio is a bit of decking with metal tables and chairs. Not value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordic_Prince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courtyard Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing