We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just the best!”

The Courtyard Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are locally family run restaurant with local frendly staff. We have been hear for 9 years, 8 years as café piano, but we have no longer have a piano so we just changed the name to The courtyard restaurant. We just want you to have a great time with afordable food
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“just the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Love love love this restaurant. Everything is just right - delicious food, reasonably priced, efficient yet friendly service - and music too on Sat.nights. By far the best place to eat in Wells I would say.

Helpful?
1 Thank JamJar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    70
    17
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
“A Hidden Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We were trawling round Wells on a cold winter evening and looking for somewhere to eat.
Plenty to choose from but nothing that took my fancy until we chanced upon this hidden little cafe/bistro in the courtyard.
We were lucky enough to get a table and enjoyed a great evening there.
The service was friendly without over familiarity, relaxed and cordial.
The atmosphere great and the food really hearty.
I've got to say i had the best mussels here I've had in years!
Lasagne to follow was great - very meaty and filling!
Wine was reasonably priced and selection varied.
All in all truly excellent!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice food - great value for money !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

My partner and I have eaten at most of the restaurants in Wells, but didn;t particularly want to spend £80 - £100 on a dinner for two, as tiimes are hard !
I noticed the Cafe Piano on Trip Advisor, then went onto their website.
Thursday and Friday evenings, any choice off the menu - 2 courses £13.95 / 3 courses £16.50 - and jolly nice it was too ! I expected reduced portions but no, we had a smashing meal, a bottle of wine and gave a £5 tip, and still had change from £50 !
The Cafe had a nice buzz about it and a fellow diner entertained us with a 30 minute recital of Beatles classics on the Cafe's piano - the food was well cooked and of good quality - the service was friendly but just a little too quick ! - next time I'll ask the waitress to slow the service down a bit.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the Cafe Piano and will return !

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rotiel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pleasant and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We ate here one night and the service was good, not pushy,just right,had a good bottle of wine and the food was very good ,enjoyed the evening.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank angela188593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Shame about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Visited on a Saturday night (booking required). The food was very average, although was told at the end of the evening that it was a different chef than normal. Very 80's style menu. The staff are very friendly and it is a great atmosphere when the band get going.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ilovefood123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courtyard Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing