We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible but not fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Notts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not terrible but not fantastic”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for just one night and our room (we paid to upgrade to a deluxe) was well appointed and decorated. The receptionist on arrival wasn’t particularly pleasant or helpful and advised that the restaurant was full so we had to find alternatives for dinner. When we wanted a drink, we were asked to order at the reception - again with the the same unhelpful lady, and then told that that wasn’t possible and she made us go back to the bar - all a little strange and it seems perhaps some staff training is in order. After trekking to look for another restaurant to eat it, without any success, we decided to have room. The food was not good. We had cheese on toast for starter that really was like a very poor attempt at making cheese on toast which was cold and unappetising at cost of I think about £6:50!? We then had lamb and sirloin for our main meals and these were so hard to chew it became quite funny!!! The breakfast I have to say was very good and there was a large selection. Other than the very very cheap sausages!? Overall, if I had to go back to Wells, would I stay here again, yes probably as there isn’t a lot of choice in the area, but I would book to eat at the Old spot across the way.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneFitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    279
    114
    33
    22
See reviews for
116
500
27
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We chose the Swan Hotel as the venue for our son's wedding in May. Most of our family and friends stayed for the whole weekend, from dinner on Friday night to a relaxed breakfast on Sunday morning. We had a superb time and everything went to plan - excellent venue, dedicated staff and wonderful food. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellshocked55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Great service,great views of the wonderfully majestic Wells Cathedral and an excellent restaurant. We have stayed here twice now and will be back before too long.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesgandolfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break, very reasonably priced for D/B&B. Have been to Wells a few times, 2nd time staying at The Swan. It is by far the best hotel in Wells town (city). There are two lovely log fires where you can have a quiet drink. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. We ate in the restaurant both nights as it was part of our package, the 3 course dinners were 1st class, the fillet steak was one of the best I have ever had and the desserts are to die for!
Top class hotel in such a beautiful little place, Wells.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbell24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Stayed at the Swann Hotel for 2 nights, Great location and really close to Glastonbury. Room 15, newly renovated to a really high standard, Spacious and comfortable, with individual and unique furniture in a room with classical colours and soft furnishing. Tastful and in tune with the age and location of this lovely hotel. Only draw back was that the Queen size bed was 2 beds connected together. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely.

I would really recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

In my eyes this is really a four star hotel! And it is really unique. The building it self is about 300 years old and it carries a lot of charm.

Two things I do not like - The linen. Get rid of the old type bed covers and get some proper linen. ( A quilt?)

- The food. The restaurant are trying too hard. A normal Ala carte would be so much better

I do like everything else. Especially the smell om fireplace that cover all common areas.

This can be a excellent hotel if the change a few things ! I will defiantly come back next time i am in the area!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trusetyven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Not a bad UK country hotel. Pretty well appointed with nice rooms. Pretty quiet, just what I wanted, but I only asked for one thing which I had to wait 24 hours for, namely a blanket as the room was particularly drafty. Otherwise not a bad stay. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
953 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located, directly opposite Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral from its lounge, bedroom and bathroom (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. The menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can eat in our restaurant, 15c A.D., our bar and lounge areas. During the summer months al fresco dining is available in the Walled Garden Café and on Swan Terrace. Wells and the surrounding area is packed with plenty to see and do. Wells award-winning market takes place on Wednesdays and Saturdays. On the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England's most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing