We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2009

I chose the Swan Hotel based on previous reviews for my wife's 40th birthday. I was not disappointed. As it was a special occasion, we were upgraded to the 'Cathedral Suite'. What a fantastic room. The rest of the hotel was equally as nice, as was the food and service. Lena on reception made us feel very welcome. All in all an excellent stay. Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Otter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 953 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

Nice clean hotel. Rooms slowly being updated.Staff are friendly and helpful, but watch if you order a shortie whickey etc. I ordered a double and watched. the guy behind the bar poured 1 1/2 not filing to top.
It may be a small thing, but when it happened twice, you begin to wonder. otherwise not a bad hotel.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jondiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Booked on DBB rate which is very good value and the evening meals are excellent with plenty of choice that changes daily. The decor in hotel rooms is a bit dated (hence only 3 star) but the restaurant and bars are lovely. RIght in the town centre and great location to explore Somerset. WIll definitely return.

Good points:
Service is excellent throughout.
Very central location in town centre with plenty of free parking.
Food is absolutely superb!

Not so good points:
Rooms are a bit dated (but have everything you would expect).
You need to get to breakfast early to make sure they don't run out of the buffet supplies.
Dinner is in sittings and you need to book early tyo get the time you want.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

The Hotel is located in the best of positions. It has great features and a fantastic restaurant. The staff are so friendly and sitting in the lounge so relaxing. This was our second stay and will no be our last.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pottsinwested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Very nice hotel, the room was comfortable and clean. The food was very nice although the service seemed somewhat slow during busy periods. The hotel is perfectly placed in the city, opposite the cathederal. The car park is to small when the hotel is full, I had to park behind the main street a few minutes walk, ok as long as it is not raining. Overall we had a very enjoyable time and are planning a return visit. We would recommend a visit. The review would have been excellent but for these two areas.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Trevor_PGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Arrived at the hotel on Tuesday afternoon looking for somewhere in Wells to spend the night. Initially we were informed by reception that the rooms were £134-a-night. That's pricey by anyone's level and that the four-poster rooms were £150. They had no 'standard' rooms available and offered us a four poster room for £134. After haggling, we were offered the room at £84!

The room was excellent with a good en-suite bathroom and flat screen TV.

Four poster mattress had seen better days but the breakfast was superb and served quickly with nice hot plates.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TPlattCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

A great weekend with great food in a small but wonderfully historic hotel. Service was good, we didn't like our room so were offered the choice of two others. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Sipping coffee by the roaring log fire in the evening was bliss. Wonderful location immediately opposite the cathedral.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandIWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,053 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
986 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
684 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: $137 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite Wells Cathedral, parts of this historic building date back to at least 1422. Today, the hotel offers guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 49 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. For a real treat, stay in the award-winning Cathedral Suite (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. During the summer, al fresco dining is available on Swan Terrace (with a magnificent view of the West Front of Wells Cathedral) or in our peaceful Walled Garden Cafe. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing