We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A treat”
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. It had a wonderful view of Wells Cathedral and the room was spacious and very comfortable. We booked the four poster bed room and were pleased. A bit noisy in the morning due to being on the road but we didn't mind as we could also hear the cathedral bells in the afternoons. We only ate breakfast there and it was OK. Staff helpful and friendly many stairs to carry up luggage which they offered help for example. There was parking as well which was important to us as we rented a car for our trip.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dezool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    275
    107
    34
    22
See reviews for
114
490
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

I stayed here when my Sister got married in the Cathedral and so I decided to spend a little more on one of their 4 poster rooms and I have to give the Swan some allowance for it being an old hotel with period furniture and say that the room was nicely sized and comfortable. However, I was very disapointed that given the cost of the room was £180 a night the service did not in any shape meet my expectations.

Trying to obtain coffee or a drink of any sort during the day was difficult and required at least 2 requests to reception for service and service at breakfast on the Saturday morning was slow.

I was particuarly shocked when I received a note from reception on the Sunday morning to advise me that the service at breakfast would be slow as the hotel was full. Slow was not the word for it, given the hotel was full I would have expected more than 1 member of staff to be present to take the orders and deliver from the kitchen. When it finally arrived the breakfast was adequate but not up to the standard expected, just like most hotels cheap ingredients (the sausages give it away) are used to cut costs, but I can accept this at a £65 a night motel but not one costing £180.

  • Liked — Views and the room
  • Disliked — Service and (lack of) value for money
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonTALM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonehouse
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Stayed in a standard double room which was of adequate size well furnished and clean although one could say it needed updating. The room was in the coach house which overlooked the main shopping street and was therefore noisy in the morning with deliveries although this did not trouble us too much. The staff were very helpful and efficient. Breakfast was well managed and the cooked breakfast was well prepared. A bit disappointed that some of the things you would expect to see available for breakfast (croissants, bread rolls, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts) were not on display.
The main area that let the hotel down was the bars. There is a great garden area with adjacent bar but this was either closed or reserved for wedding parties. We tried to get a drink at the other bar a couple of times and withdrew as it did not feel welcoming or was not staffed.
Overall an enjoyable stay but not outstanding. The prices in Wells seem to be quite high.
Great deals on coffee and a nice outdoor seated area at the nearby Crown Hotel. Make sure you visit the market near to the hotel on Weds and Sat mornings. Overall Wells was great.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Bar
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Thesilentwhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Our 3 night Easter stay was most enjoyable. We were given a warm welcome by the friendly and helpful staff. Our 4-poster bedroom (No.42) was much bigger than we had expected with a perfect view of the cathedral and la ovely bathroom. Generally I'm quite picky but throughout our stay I found everything faultless. Our dinners were included in the price and we were never disappointed. Again, the restaurant staff were professional and friendly, especially the restaurant manageress Sarah Stevens for whom nothing was too much trouble. The only thing that mght put some people off is that the clientele were mostly older than us. We're in our late 50's and actually felt young for once!

  • Liked — large and tastefully furnished 4-poster room with a great view of the cathedral
  • Disliked — car park was full on one occasion over the busy easter weekend
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

After a cold easter we decided to head off to the Somerset countryside for a few days of relaxation. we were in for a treat. The hotel is very tastefully decorated, log fires, newspapers, afternoon tea, everything you could want for an away from it all experience. Even when I booked the hotel the response was "I'll see if I can look after you" rather than "I'll see if we have a room". And thats how it was, nothing was too much trouble and everyone was friendly and cheerful. The food is divine, we stayed BBED. Both breakfast and dinner menus offered variety, the service was super and the food itself of a high quality. We can't wait to go again.

  • Liked — The overall experience
  • Disliked — The lady at dinner with the very loud voice who had seen and done everything!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank t47glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We too had one of the tired rooms overlooking the courtyard. We had the added problem of it being hot and the only ventilation was via the bathroom window! The noise of the early morning deliveries was our bugbear.
Having said that Wells is a wonderful little city and well worth visiting and revisiting.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

Visited for an anniversary break & was very impressed.
The restaurant was lovely with excellent food & a good wine selection. The location couldn't have been better.
We had a standard room which was more than adequate with a lovely bathroom, comfortable bed and sensible layout. We didn't have a great view but we weren't expecting one.
We asked for an iron & ironing board these arrived within a few minutes. Free internet access was a bonus :)

One evening there was a fire alarm as we had just sat down to dinner & the staff handled it very well.

Overall a most pleasant stay & a place I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return to.

  • Liked — the food was excellent and the dining room staff were lovely
  • Disliked — nothing really!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JustME-inUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located, directly opposite Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral from its lounge, bedroom and bathroom (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. The menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can eat in our restaurant, 15c A.D., our bar and lounge areas. During the summer months al fresco dining is available in the Walled Garden Café and on Swan Terrace. Wells and the surrounding area is packed with plenty to see and do. Wells award-winning market takes place on Wednesdays and Saturdays. On the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England's most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing