We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Views and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend at £157 per night bed and breakfast. Had room 41 which is one the top floor, front facing and centre with a perfect of the Cathedral. The room itself was a double room with bathtub and shower accessory. Remember if you want your towels changing you need to put them IN the bath not on the edge otherwise they get folded up and used again. The shower gel etc and 2 bottles of water in the room don't get replenished. Only other negative point would be the slight smell of stale cigarettes in the room.

That said, check in was efficient and polite. Reception had kindly ordered us a taxi for a pick up at a wedding we went too which gave it a big plus in terms of service in my book. It didn't seem too much trouble.

Breakfast varied in terms of ingredients on both the Saturday and Sunday. Different sausages on different days and missing black pudding on the Sunday. I'm putting it down to a hectic and busy breakfast service. They coped very well despite this and the breakfast was lovely.

The hotel itself has a historic decor and sets the atmosphere very well. The lounge area at the front of the hotel is very cosy and well used by the guests which is nice. The front door is locked at night so be prepared to ring the bell for the night porter if you stroll in at 11ish. Very helpful man though and seemed run off his feet at time dealing with everyone's nightcap orders. Good effort from him though.

The hotel is 30 seconds from the market street and located literally around the corner from the shops. Very convenient. There's a night curry house next door too.

If the price doesn't deter you, choose this hotel if you're staying in Wells

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    273
    105
    32
    22
See reviews for
111
484
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed outside Wells this weekend and stopped off at The Swan hotel for a light lunch and drink. The sun was shining so we took advantage of the superb garden overlooking the Cathedral. As we had had a cooked breakfast we only wanted a sandwich so went into the bar. The choice of sandwiches was good - ham, cheese, beef but my main concern was that my daughter's was made without any trace of mayonaise as she is seriously allergic to egg - even using the same knife to spread butter that has been used to spread mayonaise will result in her being very ill. I explained this to the barman who was absolutely charming and assured me that he would speak to the chef.
The sandwich was delicious and absolutely egg free - which enabled my daughter to enjoy the rest of her day!
So thank you to the lovely barman on duty on Saturday at about 1.00 pm. Next time we are in Wells we will book into the Swan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaywatcherSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in the Mews, in a small cottage with 2 bedrooms, reached from the end of the car park. Very quiet, although you could hear your neighbours. Very pleasant hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Couldn't use the restaurant as they were fully booked right through the weekend, but plenty of alternatives within yards. As close to the cathedral as you could get, and well worth a visit.

Only complaint would be the size of the bathroom in the cottage, nice bath but the shower without a curtain totally impractical. How you would manage if on the large size I don't know.

Room Tip: Mews cottages very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecabarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a last minute booking whilst touring the area on a relaxing weekend away .We couldn't have been more delighted. I stay in many nice hotels around the country for business, but this hotel stay was exceptional.The room was at the front of the building overlooking the cathedral.The interior was chic comfortable and very luxurious. We enjoyed our stay so much that we recommended this hotel for our son's wedding night. The hotel provided a complimentary upgrade and they too enjoyed the and level of comfort and service. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIRDSTAFFORDSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

we stayed at this hotel in August and it has a lot of character and a great location in the centre of Wells.Our room was spotless and had high quality furnishings .The only downside was the first night we stayed there was a wedding in the hotel and the room we were allocated directly ovelooked the disco.We had been emailed in advance that there might be some noise which was an understatement! Its a lovely hotel but if you book and then get an email about possible noise i would suggest you contact the hotel to check which room you have been given

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude362013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Mid-Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

A beautiful old coaching inn, with old-worldly character and modern, professional, helpful and friendly staff. Have never experienced as many waiting-on staff as we saw at dinner-time. Food was good and hit the spot; dinner choices were excellent and changed for the two nights of the stay. Would recommend booking a table for dinner in the restaurant at the same time as booking the room! As others have mentioned, the car park is small and will not accommodate all guests' cars - arrive early and take advantage of the comfortable lounge or bar then ...we will return!

Room Tip: Ask at reception when booking; staff are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaPeaEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel. Lovely room, lots of character, delicious breakfast...Staff were so helpful and polite. Special mention for Heather who tried really hard to get us in the car park which was choka block full. Only drawback is the small car park. There is public parking across the road but we had to get up early to feed the meter before the attendant started his rounds. Didn't see or use spa.

Room Tip: We stayed in coach house on 1st floor. Beautiful room, quiet, spotless and tastefully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesleyherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Address: 11 Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located, directly opposite Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral from its lounge, bedroom and bathroom (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. The menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can eat in our restaurant, 15c A.D., our bar and lounge areas. During the summer months al fresco dining is available in the Walled Garden Café and on Swan Terrace. Wells and the surrounding area is packed with plenty to see and do. Wells award-winning market takes place on Wednesdays and Saturdays. On the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England's most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing