We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel !”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in the Mews, in a small cottage with 2 bedrooms, reached from the end of the car park. Very quiet, although you could hear your neighbours. Very pleasant hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Couldn't use the restaurant as they were fully booked right through the weekend, but plenty of alternatives within yards. As close to the cathedral as you could get, and well worth a visit.

Only complaint would be the size of the bathroom in the cottage, nice bath but the shower without a curtain totally impractical. How you would manage if on the large size I don't know.

Room Tip: Mews cottages very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecabarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    279
    114
    33
    22
See reviews for
116
500
27
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STAFFORDSHIRE
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a last minute booking whilst touring the area on a relaxing weekend away .We couldn't have been more delighted. I stay in many nice hotels around the country for business, but this hotel stay was exceptional.The room was at the front of the building overlooking the cathedral.The interior was chic comfortable and very luxurious. We enjoyed our stay so much that we recommended this hotel for our son's wedding night. The hotel provided a complimentary upgrade and they too enjoyed the and level of comfort and service. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIRDSTAFFORDSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

we stayed at this hotel in August and it has a lot of character and a great location in the centre of Wells.Our room was spotless and had high quality furnishings .The only downside was the first night we stayed there was a wedding in the hotel and the room we were allocated directly ovelooked the disco.We had been emailed in advance that there might be some noise which was an understatement! Its a lovely hotel but if you book and then get an email about possible noise i would suggest you contact the hotel to check which room you have been given

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude362013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Mid-Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A beautiful old coaching inn, with old-worldly character and modern, professional, helpful and friendly staff. Have never experienced as many waiting-on staff as we saw at dinner-time. Food was good and hit the spot; dinner choices were excellent and changed for the two nights of the stay. Would recommend booking a table for dinner in the restaurant at the same time as booking the room! As others have mentioned, the car park is small and will not accommodate all guests' cars - arrive early and take advantage of the comfortable lounge or bar then ...we will return!

Room Tip: Ask at reception when booking; staff are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaPeaEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel. Lovely room, lots of character, delicious breakfast...Staff were so helpful and polite. Special mention for Heather who tried really hard to get us in the car park which was choka block full. Only drawback is the small car park. There is public parking across the road but we had to get up early to feed the meter before the attendant started his rounds. Didn't see or use spa.

Room Tip: We stayed in coach house on 1st floor. Beautiful room, quiet, spotless and tastefully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesleyherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I only stayed one night here as I was attending a funeral in the cathedral. This is very comfortable & well-appointed hotel, I had an enormous bed to myself! The room was large with easy chairs & the bathroom was a reasonable size, though not enough shelf or cupboard space. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice & plenty of fresh fruit, which can often be hard to find in British hotels. The staff were pleasant & helpful & my room was ready before the official check-in time as I'd requested. The hotel has a car park, a big bonus in a city like Wells, especially so close to the city centre & the cathedral. I arrived at Friday midday & there was plenty of space, but it did get full later. I found it very quiet, in spite of the hotel's own warnings.

Room Tip: Away from the main function rooms would probably be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We came to the Swan Hotel to celebrate our anniversary, 24th August. The a la carte menu was to die for, it was excellently presented and excellently cooked, arguably the best food I have eaten in the UK. It was a busy night for the staff but we had Audrey as our waitress who was outstanding in her professionalism however the restaurant manager/head waiter seems to have missed his vocation, he would be better suited to a funeral parlour.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
953 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located, directly opposite Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral from its lounge, bedroom and bathroom (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. The menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can eat in our restaurant, 15c A.D., our bar and lounge areas. During the summer months al fresco dining is available in the Walled Garden Café and on Swan Terrace. Wells and the surrounding area is packed with plenty to see and do. Wells award-winning market takes place on Wednesdays and Saturdays. On the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England's most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing