We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great trip away with the girls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great trip away with the girls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently visited The Swan Hotel with 3 friends on a girls trip to Wells to include some shopping at nearby Clarks Village. We had one of the Courtyard apartments and it was ideal for relaxing with friends and catching up within a self-contained mini house!
Although we had all the facilities to have eaten in the apartment we ate in the hotel. The food was stunning with a good choice of food. The service was friendly and the staff were helpful.
I would recommend a stay for couples or friends looking to get away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susieharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    269
    105
    31
    22
See reviews for
108
480
26
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel due to it being featured in the film Hot Fuzz. The location was excellent. Wells is a beautiful city with plenty to see and do, especially with the Saturday market.

We were in the Coach House, a room that was overlooking the high street so noisy and hot. Room was big enough for three, basic but comfortable decor and free wi fi, just could do with a little bit of updating and perhaps air con/fan bearing in mind the cost of the room.

The restaurant staff were attentive but not 100% accurate with orders. The evening menu served a la carte, although excellent quality but it was overpriced.

Breakfast was good, variety and reasonably priced.

We would stay at this hotel again, mainly due to location, but would probably choose not to eat in the restaurant in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely hotel in attractive busy town. Overlooks the cathedral and the patio area across the road is great in summer. Staff and food good, although the dinner at The Old Pig across the road is better, well the creme brulee certainly is. All ground floor facilities look recently upgraded and are excellent. Our room with a four poster had the most magnificent view of the cathedral. Big warning - don;t stay in any of the top floor rooms in summer. They can be suffocatingly hot. Stayed 3 nights and it never cooled down. If the listed building can't be insulated they should consider installing ceiling fans. If it hadn't been for this I would have given 5 stars.

Room Tip: Not top floor in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a loveley hotel in a prime spot opposite the cathedral in Wells. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, decorated in the standard modern hotel style but none the worse for that. The bathrooms are similarly modern and large. My wife gives extra points for the good sized make-up mirror. We both loved the patio over the road where you can have an alfresco beer and bar meal for reasonable, for hotel, prices.

There are good breakfast options of better than average quality.

Staff were universally helpful and cheerful, in particular the bar staff. The only minus was that due to the heat we slept with our window open facing the courtyard and we could hear the animated conversations and expirations of the early morning shift in the kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zappaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

How my husband & I love this hotel! You are made wellcome the minute you arrive & the hotel is superb! Recently refurbished to a very high standard love it! The rooms are immacluate & once again decorated in really good taste. The food is absolutly wonderful also. The hotel is maintained to a very high standard, the staff are the happiest and friendliest you could meet & so helpful. We stay at many hotels due to our business but this one is the best. Wells itself is really interesting and the Catherdral stunning. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: The Catherdral suite is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 960Arrabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am very ambivalent about The Swan. The staff were brilliant apart from a very off-hand receptionist who made no offer for our bags to be taken up the steep flight of stairs with a very difficult door to manage at the top.
Our room was small for the price we paid and the bathroom was miniscule.
However. the position was amazing and the view from the outside dining area was ideal.
The staff were so very helpful and friendly and made our stay very pleasant.
The food was very disappointing with burnt cheese on toast at breakfast and throughout our stay of 2 nights, the teapots had chips in their spouts - unhygienic. The evening meal was disappointing and expensive, with the dessert being nothing like the web-site pictures and we were charged £7.50, it being the 3rd course in the daily menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeBrough_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is very near the cathedral, which is a major plus. However, we did not feel that our particular room was worth the money. (Avoid an "upscale" room with a four-poster bed; our room was small, with a small bathroom, and the bed was lumpy.) Upon check-in, the desk clerk was cool to the point of rudeness, and we had to carry our bags up a long flight of stairs; there is no lift. On the plus side, the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: A room with four-poster bed is not worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageursfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
6.7 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Address: 11 Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located, directly opposite Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral from its lounge, bedroom and bathroom (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. The menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can eat in our restaurant, 15c A.D., our bar and lounge areas. During the summer months al fresco dining is available in the Walled Garden Café and on Swan Terrace. Wells and the surrounding area is packed with plenty to see and do. Wells award-winning market takes place on Wednesdays and Saturdays. On the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England's most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing