We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swan - Parson's Egg?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am very ambivalent about The Swan. The staff were brilliant apart from a very off-hand receptionist who made no offer for our bags to be taken up the steep flight of stairs with a very difficult door to manage at the top.
Our room was small for the price we paid and the bathroom was miniscule.
However. the position was amazing and the view from the outside dining area was ideal.
The staff were so very helpful and friendly and made our stay very pleasant.
The food was very disappointing with burnt cheese on toast at breakfast and throughout our stay of 2 nights, the teapots had chips in their spouts - unhygienic. The evening meal was disappointing and expensive, with the dessert being nothing like the web-site pictures and we were charged £7.50, it being the 3rd course in the daily menu.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeBrough_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is very near the cathedral, which is a major plus. However, we did not feel that our particular room was worth the money. (Avoid an "upscale" room with a four-poster bed; our room was small, with a small bathroom, and the bed was lumpy.) Upon check-in, the desk clerk was cool to the point of rudeness, and we had to carry our bags up a long flight of stairs; there is no lift. On the plus side, the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: A room with four-poster bed is not worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyageursfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This historic coach house has been converted into a lovely hotel. The public areas especially are beautifully done, the staff are friendly and helpful and then there's that georgeous view across to Well's cathedral. There's even an outdoor area across the road on the edge of the Cathedrals lawn where you can enjoy a drink and soak in the view.

The rooms are fine, well equipped and comfortable. I had no problems with noise despite this being a converted old building. The resteraunt was really good for the evening meal, but let itself down for breakfast where my Full English breakfast looked distinctly like it had been pulled out a wamer or microwave rather than fresh cooked.

Room Tip: I guess you'd really want the view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChelseaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here in late May for 1 night. The Hotel has such history, and character. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it is ideally located opposite the Cathedral which is spectacular in the late evening and early morning. Our room was very comfortable, although there is no lift, so if you are located on a higher floor, be prepared for stairs. Restaurant meal was very nice as was the breakfast. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaaC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and thought it about time we gave them a thumbs up.
Great hotel for those seeking romance or wanting to stay in an historic location.
We would thoroughly recommend the Cathedral Suite, which is stunning with it's copper bath. Great location for a trip to the Cathedral which is opposite or the short trip to Glastonbury. Staff and accommodation are great so would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Cathedral Suite has an amazing view of the Cathedral (hence the name) and is quite stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LewlewDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have recently been to a function at the swan hotel great facility and a great place to have any sort of business or social function !! The staff were very efficient and attentive at all time throughout my visit !!

The manager Mr. Tobin was obviously a man who has the full respect of all his staff I found him to be very helpful at all times !!

Will look forward to my return highly recommend !!

Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank furlong101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A group of us - 30 walkers - stayed at the hotel for 3 nights last weekend. We received a very warm welcome from the staff - someone in the car park directing us to free parking places - not many left at 5.00pm. Porterage was available to help with our luggage as three flights of stairs to my room (No 41) is a long way to go, but the view was fantastic from my window, directly opposite the Cathedral.

Dinner was served promptly at 7.00pm as arranged but the food was a little disappointing. I realise we had a limited menu being on a group rate but the food was rather bland, particularly the vegetarian options which I had each night. Others in the group said the vegetables served separately with the main course were overcooked and tasteless.

The breakfast choice was good but the only complaint there was that the cooked course of the breakfast was served whilst we were still eating our cereals and fruit.

The hotel is in a prime location for visiting the Cathedral and Bishop's Palace.

There was a wedding party on the Saturday night and the noise as people stood outside waiting for cars or taxis to take them home was very loud, so book a room in the Coach House if you don't want to be disturbed. Members of our group who stayed in the Coach House were very impressed both with the spaciousness of the their room (some even had a suite) and the quietness of it.

All in all, a very nice hotel in the centre of Wells so one must expect some noise, I suppose and very helpful and polite staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathysClown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Address: 11 Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: $144 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite Wells Cathedral, parts of this historic building date back to at least 1422. Today, the hotel offers guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 49 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. For a real treat, stay in the award-winning Cathedral Suite (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. During the summer, al fresco dining is available on Swan Terrace (with a magnificent view of the West Front of Wells Cathedral) or in our peaceful Walled Garden Cafe. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing