We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel and not like a chain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for one night but wish we had been able to stay longer. The staff are all extremely nice, the setting looking over the cathedral is wonderful and it is very handy for all of the sights. The decor is all well maintained and in a nice contemporary style which compliments the old building.

The food is excellent but if you stay for a bit longer try the restaurant next door called Cafe Romna which is Indian fusion and excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMAB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 953 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

After several stays at the Swan Hotel, I decided it was time to leave a review. What a place! I have frequented the Swan Hotel on several trips to the UK and it is quickly becoming my home away from home. The staff are very curtious and attentive very time I enter the charming hotel, which has had quite a remarkable update from when I first stayed several years ago. Guest rooms are warm,clean and comfortable (I have found my favorites since decor seems to vary from room to room), almost like staying in a guest room at a grand estate. The food in the bar and restaurant is superb, escpecially the mussel starter, its my favorite. Audrey serves up one amazing latte as well that I really enjoy while taking in the fabulous Cathedral views. I could go on, but you really should just find out for yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was the perfect short break for us. The location is great as it is in the centre of the charming town of Wells without actually being on the High Street - which is only a two minute walk into it. The magnificent cathedral is literally opposite the front of the hotel. You cross the road and walk straight on to the green with its charming old houses on either side and can visit all the historical sites including the Bishop's Palace with beautiful gardens easily. Being a small town, you can leave your car at the hotel and walk around it, enjoying some of the more interesting little shops a little further down the High Street. The market square is old and very picturesque with plenty of cafes and other shops.
The food at the hotel was wonderful and very artistically presented. Every meal we had during our three day stay was a gourmet's delight. The service was very professional, friendly and helpful. The dining room staff were so willing to please and get you anything you wanted even if it was not strictly on the menu. My husband is disabled and we found the access to the room and bathroom and other areas very easy. Our room was spacious, very clean, and well equipped, as was the bathroom. All in all, this is one hotel we have stayed at that we cannot fault in any way (and we are fairly critical customers)! We look forward to returning there some time. The drive over the Mendips is beautiful and just a few minutes away and Cheddar Gorge is spectacular - also just a short distance.

Room Tip: We had Room ~50 on the ground floor of the coach house and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happylanding2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Slightly disappointed by the food served in the bar at lunch time. Not to as the high standard as you would expect from one of the top hotels in Wells. I has lasagne, it was a bit dry chips were nice but rocket salad had to much dressing on it. My father had ham, egg and chips, but ham was not as expect, freshly carved, eggs were cooked well though. Probably wont be rushing back for a lunch time snack.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurfett5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanhotelwells, General Manager at Best Western Plus Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Guest feedback is very important to us and we are investigating the issues that you have raised.
Kind Regards
Terri Chichester
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

went on a biking trip with friends from ireland and stayed in this lovely hotel with wonderful staff. hotel is centrally located. the rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable to stay in. we had dinner included for our stay. there was always good choices and the food excellent. the staff, receptionists, waiters/waitresses and housekeeping, were friendly and accomodating. we left behind my husband's shirt in the wardrobe and they kindly posted it to us free of charge.just showed how honest the housekeeping staff by turning it in and how accomodating they were for taking time to post it to us for free. what makes a hotel a great place to stay are the people who work there and this is one hotel that should be considered by anyone visiting wells.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumminsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been staying at the Swan twice yearly for the past 10 years... the service is wonderful, the staff are fantastic, the rooms are full of character and history, the food is great, what else could one need? An absolute treat, especially when the weather is kind!!! I do have to admit that I liked the pre renovation Swan better, but still... an absolutely wonderful hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himonides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels as a family we have stayed in. We didn't book but called in on the off chance there was a room. It's fair to say that the staff in this hotel are faultless. Immaculate hotel. Plus period and modern fixture. Perfect location. From the bar area (which has he best sofa's ever) you get a view of the Cathedral. The rooms were fantastic. Really comfy beds. Separate lounge area with sofa bed and TV, again top quality. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath, perfect for families getting ready together. The breakfast was first class. Wow.....highly recommended for families and couples. And free parking which was tight but manageable.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel which was perfect for us. Although not the best view the room made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missie_Moo_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,053 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
986 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
684 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: $137 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite Wells Cathedral, parts of this historic building date back to at least 1422. Today, the hotel offers guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 49 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. For a real treat, stay in the award-winning Cathedral Suite (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. During the summer, al fresco dining is available on Swan Terrace (with a magnificent view of the West Front of Wells Cathedral) or in our peaceful Walled Garden Cafe. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing