We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than average”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is very charming and if you like 16thC architecture you are in for a treat. Service is also very good. I have two negative points that kept me from rating it as 'excellent' above. First, the expense of everything in the hotel makes it a serious undertaking to stay here and secondly, their policy of not accepting any bookings for fewer than two nights per stay seems a bit silly to me. I returned to Wells with my husband after this trip was concluded, with a view to staying the The Swan. But as we only planned to be in Wells for one evening, we were obliged to stay in another establishment as The Swan wouldn't have us due to this policy. This seems a bit silly to me, particularly in times of economic difficulty as we would quite happily have stayed there for the one night, and there was room availability.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellercaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    276
    108
    34
    22
See reviews for
114
493
27
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lovely old stage hotel centrally based and overlooking the Cathedral. Plenty of ground floor rooms in the annexe for those who need easy access. Each room in the main building are very individual and ooze history.
Dinner and breakfast were very good although the chefs signature breakfast of "Taunton toast" was in fact Welsh rarebit with bacon on top. Give the guy his due, it did make us laugh.
Slightly overpriced but had a great stay. Thoroughly recommend visiting the bishops palace when you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagleslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here for one night over a weekend whilst in Wells with work. All the hotel staff were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was tastefully furnished and had all the basic facilities - TV, Kettle etc. The bathroom was very clean and contained Gilchrist and Soames toiletries. (I stayed in room 17) . The hotel is perfectly situated opposite the cathedral and subsequently close to all the shops and market place. It is surprisingly quiet, despite being so central. The lounge and public areas are all comfortable and cosy with areas you can have some peace and quiet during the day. Breakfast was super - I simply had cereal, juice, bacon and eggs. The latter cooked really well and served on a warm plate. Very friendly but not overly fussy staff at breakfast who looked after you but left you to read the paper in peace. Finally, I was very surprised that there had been a wedding reception at the rear of the hotel the same night. I didn't hear or see a thing despite it apparently finishing very late. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Right from the start we were impressed by the helpful staff. I drive a Ford Mustang which sometimes has problems navigating the small English roads and car parks. I let the staff know that I couldn't get through to little car park and was allowed to use the suite parking spot at the front of the hotel. They were also very helpful when it came to the needs of our young daughter.
The room was very nice, with old wooden furniture and a four poster bed. We also had a great view of the Wells Cathedral. The dinner from the hotel restaurant was delicious, as was the breakfast the next day.
We loved our stay at this hotel and I'm sure most people will.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBeck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in room 41 in the old part of the hotel with a wonderful view of Wells cathedral. There was some noise from late night revellers on there way home but 2 floors up it was a small intrusion. The room was clean, comfortable and well equiped. The bathroom was quite small but expected in such an old quirky building. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast choice was good. We did not eat in the restaurant at night in case we were overwhelmed by coach parties as had happened previously. There is a very comfortable lounge for snacks and realxing. Parking is sometimes a problem but the staff work hard to accomodate everybody.

Room Tip: Room 41 for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twolancastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My partner and I recently had the chance to stay at The Swan whilst attending our best friends wedding. We were more than impressed. We stayed for two nights in the Mews, which is a gorgeous, modern, 2 bed apartment. It really was very very nice. The beds were really comfortable and the bathroom facilities were ace.
As we were part of the wedding party we got to know Mark the wedding coordinator. He was absolutely fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble and he was available throughout the day to answer any questions that we had. He worked really hard and it was much appreciated as he helped to make our friends wedding perfect.
The food that was served as part of the wedding breakfast was superb. Especially the Crumble!! The service was brilliant and there wasn't a long wait between courses. The breakfast in the morning was also so delicious!!
Overall we were more than impressed with the service that we received at The Swan and I hope that we get the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had our wedding at the Swan Hotel and everything about it was absolutely first class. The day was coordinated by Mark Tobin and all I can say is whatever the swan are paying him it isn't enough! :-)

Mark was superb in the running of the day and bent over backwards to ensure that our wedding was perfect. The rooms were of a high standard and if you get a chance to have the cathedral suite I highly recommend you take up the opportunity. All the staff were really friendly and helpful and the cathedral backdrop infront of the hotel is sublime.

You must really take into consideration the personality types of the people that leave negative reviews especially about this hotel. My wife and I couldn't fault it and we highly recommend this hotel not only to stay in but if your planning on getting married in the area nothing comes close to the character that the swan hotel possesses.

Andy & Tasche

Room Tip: Ask for Mark! Simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located, directly opposite Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral from its lounge, bedroom and bathroom (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. The menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can eat in our restaurant, 15c A.D., our bar and lounge areas. During the summer months al fresco dining is available in the Walled Garden Café and on Swan Terrace. Wells and the surrounding area is packed with plenty to see and do. Wells award-winning market takes place on Wednesdays and Saturdays. On the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England's most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing