We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room with a terrific view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had a superb room with an excellent 4 poster bed and stunning views of the cathedral. The room's furnishings matched the traditional atmosphere of the hotel and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. It has a position at the very heart of wells with its front overlooking the front of the cathedral.

The only blemishes were small niggles but... the bath had a rain head shower, excellent, except for me at 6'3" it was only as high as my eyebrows. In addition the cold tap of the bath was unscrewing and the radiators in bathroom and main room desperately needed bleeding; both only provided heat from the bottom couple of inches and gurgled loudly when the heating started. Also there was no mention at booking that some of the public areas, including the lounge, were being refurbished as we stayed.

A great room with a great view only slightly let down by a few plumbing details. Get a new plumber and warn me of work being done and it would have been full marks.

Room Tip: Get the room with the 4 post bed at the top of the hotel facing the Cathedral. Go out of season for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maclauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 954 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

friendly staff, fab views of the cathedral, excellent breakfast and lots of olde world atmosphere complete with log fire and contemporary comfort.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramblerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We're not usually film buffs, but our visit to Wells was to take a look at the filming locations for the movie, Hot Fuzz which was mainly filmed in the city. The Swan Hotel itself was also featured in the film.

I echo the words of another contributor who issued words of warning about the access to the car park, it's narrow and windy but we saw a large Audi V10 negotiate the bends without issue. Car parking is ample.

The staff are very obliging, helpful and cheerful - they could never do enough.

Dinner in the restaurant was fantastic, an excellent standard. We almost gave The Swan Hotel four 'blobs' rather than five as the breakfast wasn't as ample as we would have liked. We asked for baked beans and a hash brown which aren't standard on the full English (so therefore it's not a FULL English!), and the bacon was cooked American style: rock hard.

Breakfast is the only area on which this hotel needs to improve. The rooms are luxuriously appointed, a standard other hotels in England should follow. The rooms, staff and dinner mean that five 'blobs' are awarded. Breakfast let down an otherwise superb stay, but we still heartily recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the Cathedral Suite, but this does appear to be THE best if you are the discer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConsumerBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have a wonderful 2 night break in the cathedral Suite which was fantastic. If you are heading to Wells for a special break or holiday I highly reccomend it. Although a bit pricey it does come with its own parking space, stunning views and a chilled bottle of champagne on arrival.
I love this hotel and I have stayed there quite a few, the staff are great and very gay friendly

Room Tip: If you can afford it try the cathedral Suite or ask to be allowed to view it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank salfordcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Went with friends for a pre Christmas week end. They had been before many years ago.
The hotel has its own car park & although it is supposed to be for residents it clearly gets used by other hotel users.
The booking was made by friends & they had asked for rooms away from any noise so we ended up in a rear building & not in the main hotel. I would personally have chosen to be within the main part.
The staff were very helpful & friendly and the restaurant was decent - with an exceptionally good breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandTRuralSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I had a business Lunch at the 'Swan' and I have to say that the Food, Service and ambience is to be commended!! i will be returning to try Dinner in the near future. Great value for Money!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuartlegassick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Have just returned after our xmas stay at the Swan which we thoroughly enjoyed.It was our second visit & we are planning to visit again soon.The staff were marvelous & couldn't help us enough & obviously enjoy their jobs.The xmas program was well thought out & the clotted cream scones far too tempting.Boxing day was a Hollywood theme with the staff dressing up....have posted some photos.The breakfast was plentiful & cooked to order setting you up for day ahead.Thanks to all the staff for making our xmas such a happy memorable stay.Looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kernowdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 6 in Wells
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
989 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
685 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: $131 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite Wells Cathedral, parts of this historic building date back to at least 1422. Today, the hotel offers guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 49 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. For a real treat, stay in the award-winning Cathedral Suite (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. During the summer, al fresco dining is available on Swan Terrace (with a magnificent view of the West Front of Wells Cathedral) or in our peaceful Walled Garden Cafe. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing