We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Christmas Party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Staff Christmas Party”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We held our Staff Christmas Party at this hotel and it was outstanding! The service (you know its good when you notice no-one and everything gets done as if by magic), food (Hot, well presented and tasty) and venue (almost like being in Lapland with the reindeer and snow) were absolutely lovely. Everywhere was clean and bright and Sebastian and his team were outstanding. Many thanks for a very memorable time. We will be back - and recommend you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jubblyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    283
    114
    33
    24
See reviews for
117
511
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Good location and room, helpful staff, excellent restaurant. Only slight negative was that the floorboards are creaky so there is a lot of noise from corridors, but this is to be expected in an old hotel. The access to the car park is very narrow and a challenge for wide cars. All in all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Having just spent 3 nights at this hotel, what a wonderful place to be. We were on dbb , the food and the service was excellent. The staff could not do enough for myself and husband.All the reviews are good but until you stay there and experience it for yourself it does sound too good, but it is everything that all the reviews say.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maureen075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanhotelwells, General Manager at Best Western Plus Swan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
It's always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Spent 2 days here in November, taking advantage of a great offer which included, dinner and b& B. The location in the centre of Wells was fabulous, especially as the hotel has ample free parking. The entrance is easily missed and care must be taken if you are uncertain about the width of your car as you have to navigate carefully before you get to the parking area.

The staff are superb. From reception area to the restaurant, people could not be any friendlier or more helpful. Breakfast is outstanding and will set all normal people up for busy day of sightseeing. Dinner was ok but I would not have had my second dinner there if I had not already paid for it. The quality of some of the food did not justify the cost. I needed to ask for a steak knife to cut through some of my lamb. A chainsaw would have been more helpful! The fish meals my wife had were exquisite.

It would advise seeing your room before settling in as the views are not spectacular unless you have a cathedral view. We were upgraded to a four poster room as our original room had a less than picturesque outlook. Be aware that some rooms are located in an adjacent building, the coach house. I cannot comment on the quality of these rooms but I like to be in the main building.

We had a very pleasant stay in this friendly and comfortable hotel and would stay there again on a B&B basis.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Historyman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanhotelwells, General Manager at Best Western Plus Swan Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your constructive comments. I have made our Head Chef, Leigh Say, aware of your feedback concerning your disappointing meat dish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in September, DB&B inclusive rate which was excellent value. Lovely old building, loads of character, relaxed atmosphere, felt like a small country house hotel but right in the centre of Wells. We has a good sized, comfortable, clean, well appointed bedroom at the back of the hotel, plenty of wardrobe and storage space, small but good bathroom, shower over bath. All the staff were welcoming, cheerful, friendly and helpful, e.g. helped us carry our bags to our room. Wonderful view of the Cathedral from the "patio" at the front of the hotel. Good breakfast with plenty of choice and very good evening meals with only small supplements payable on a couple of the choices for those on the inclusive deal. Car park is a bonus but does get full and be aware that there is a quite lengthy, winding and at times narrow journey to it from the road-if you meet someone coming the other way, you may have to reverse which can be tricky. Wells is a great place to stay and explore.The Cathedral is superb and look out for the cat in the shop! Wells also has some good shops and an excellent saturday market.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StokeOnTrentGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanhotelwells, General Manager at Best Western Plus Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. Plans are underway to improve the car parking facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

A welcoming arrival is so important in predisposing guests to feel their business is appreciated and the reception here really was the business: Welcoming, helpful and kind, an attitude we found without exception from all members of staff throughout the establishment during our 2 night stay. The hotel itself is old, very old, not without mod cons too, but guests should not expect box like uniformity- it is what it is and has evolved thus over nearly 600 years of documented history. We stayed in one of the old rooms at the front and yes the floors did creak, there was some street noise, the en suite was a bit cramped and not especially "intimate", but the room was still well equipped with a decent, multi channel (Samsung) TV, gratis tea/coffee making facilities, alarm clock, hair drier, adequate wardrobe and drawer space, a comfy not too soft bed, table and chairs, good lighting options, plain decor, nice towels and toiletries, etc. The common areas were pleasant- an atmospheric lounge with furnishings to match and open fire place, a more modern bar, an oak panelled dining room, a modern, well equipped health suite in an outbuilding to the rear, a superb sitting out area opposite and directly in front of the beautiful western facade of the cathedral, and (a real bonus in such an enviable city centre pitch) a reasonably sized car park to the rear accessed from what must presumably have been the old coaching inn "tunnel entry" . The breakfast offer was varied enough for us with multiple hot and cold options. The evening meals provided a choice of 5 or 6 dishes per course with a veggie option- well presented, tasty and reasonably inventive. The wine list was limited but satisfactory and not eye wateringly expensive. Nice to see a real ale option in the bar, albeit Butcombe is not one of my favourites. We felt we had had excellent value for money on our half board option in a well run establishment enjoying an enviable location with all the attractions of a historic city within a very short walk. Well done to all of the staff.

Room Tip: Older rooms at front overlook street but are away from possible noise from parties in rear funtion r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable,Bedfordshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We were booked with another 10 couples for 3 nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis for a 36th Re-union.
The entrance to the car park was a bit tight but with a small car, no problem! From the smallish carpark to reception was quite a hike but worth it when you got there! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
We were booked into room 14 which overlooked the road to the car park,so not much noise apart from pigeons and the chef and porter having a conversation under our window at 6.30am next morning!! The room was a bit small but adequate with plenty of hangars in the wardrobe, something most hotels fall short on! Bathroom was a bit like a corridor so no passing room! Shower was fantastic but a bit low but the head angled so not too much of a problem.

There was a terrace overlooking the cathedral across the road from the hotel, a lovely place to sit with pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea etc.
Dinners were on a Table d'hote basis, as we had a group booking, so choice was a bit limited.

My Friday dinner was fine although others complained that the chicken was underdone!

Saturday breakfast, and in fact all three breakfasts, were ok although the menu was limited, so if you wanted something that wasn't included in "our menu" you had to ask for it.As we were on a discounted price basis because of the numbers of people in our group, we were limited on choice! (An average price per night D B & B was £148 for our group)
We had a special dinner on Saturday night in the Conference Centre. The table was beautifully laid by our hosts (2 couples each year organise the weekend).
The menu, again, somewhat limited as we were told local produce would be used! Lamb balls in tomato sauce,sure!! I had Hake, very tasty.
If you like a good real ale don't drink the Buttcombe bitter in the hotel,its awful. Go to the Crown round the corner on Market Square,good selection and properly kept!

Our overall impression of the hotel was good but I'm not sure it was up to the usual Best Western standard.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size but the Coach House at the rear of the hotel was modern and to a higher standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanuts067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
969 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
671 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Address: Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite Wells Cathedral, parts of this historic building date back to at least 1422. Today, the hotel offers guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 49 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. For a real treat, stay in the award-winning Cathedral Suite (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. During the summer, al fresco dining is available on Swan Terrace (with a magnificent view of the West Front of Wells Cathedral) or in our peaceful Walled Garden Cafe. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing