We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Food and Drink and friendly staff!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The City Arms

The City Arms
Ranked #43 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We have recently opened after a refurbishment programme. Bar and restaurant are complete. Outside patio area requires planning permission before works can take place - should be ready for the early summer (Target = 1st April). Stocks and shackles in the old City Jail are being repaired and will be used for any customers who over-indulge on our fine ales!. Much done and much more to do to restore the City Arms to its former glory. as one of England's finest pubs.
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Food and Drink and friendly staff!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

On our first night in Wells we visited the City Arms as we had been recommended by a friend. This is a historic pub with plenty of old beams, we were told it used to be the local jail. The food was very tasty and appeared to be home cooked, Like the previous reviewer my husband had the Somerset Chicken and he loved it as well. We enjoyed it so much we went again on the night before we went home. The staff were very friendly and recognised us as being returning customers. I would suggest they got some fly zappers though, there seemed to be a lot about especially little tiny "thunder bugs", having said that I would definitely return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Didavkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    78
    36
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the Somerset Chicken was divine. The creamy sauce was so tasty and the vegetables were perfectly cooked.

I was disappointed that the 'Special- Steak and Stilton stroganoff' was not available even at the start of the night. Next time I go I am looking forward to trying it.

I would recommend this pub as its good nicely presented wholesome food with a good choice of cider.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sealfeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice pub, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We ordered a couple of burgers and a lasagne, the burgers were very nice however one of the plates had loads of sauce stuck to it underneath - clean your plates guys!

The lasagne was nice however way too much cheese on the top, and we do like cheese however think someone got a bit carried away with the cheese grater.

We will go back again so yes worth going to again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Southwestpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

A very old pub with a lot of history, and an excellent meal in very comfortable surroundings. Have been here twice before but this particular time seemed even more value for money, service was quick and efficient and as we were a party of 8 we were given a lovely table all together, our meals were presented beautifully and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! Will definitely be going back, soon I hope!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janbomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Shocker”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Came in hoping to relax, as we were deciding on what to order one of the workers came in for her wages and not only was refused her pay, but also violently pushed out in front of all diners then shouted at and pushed some more outside. I don't care why this person was fired if she was, there is no excuse of violence towards staff in my world.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzywombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The City Arms also viewed

Wells, Somerset
 

Been to The City Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing