We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a charming location”
Review of The Litton

The Litton
Ranked #13 of 90 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Description: The Litton is a sympathetically refurbished pub, with 12 boutique rooms, set in the heart of the Somerset Countryside. Menus are inspired by the seasons and by the local, sustainable ingredients available to us. Offering a predominantly modern British cuisine with influences from continental Europe. We also create inspiring, daily specials to suit all tastes. Whether you’re joining us for a breakfast, lunch or dinner, or just a snack we have a varied menu to suit all tastes and dietary requirements.
Restaurant details
Description: The Litton is a sympathetically refurbished pub, with 12 boutique rooms, set in the heart of the Somerset Countryside. Menus are inspired by the seasons and by the local, sustainable ingredients available to us. Offering a predominantly modern British cuisine with influences from continental Europe. We also create inspiring, daily specials to suit all tastes. Whether you’re joining us for a breakfast, lunch or dinner, or just a snack we have a varied menu to suit all tastes and dietary requirements.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited The Litton recently for a family lunch. Everyone was very impressed with the quality of the food - I thought my scallops, venison and dessert were great. There's also a good selection of beers and the decor gives a cosy feel.

It was our first visit and I'm sure not the last. Thanks!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 135 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2020

Really stunning pub, beautifully restored & maintained with gardens & a terrace overlooking a stream, near lovely walks. Delicious roast; flavoursome, came with cauliflower cheese as a standard extra, very good quality meats - the beef was perfectly cooked, pink in the middle & tender. One portion came with overcooked beef but when we gently complained we were brought some perfectly cooked beef with no quibbling. More gravy also brought on request again with no issues.
The pub is also an inn with rooms & based on what I saw I would absolutely love to stay there- real attention to detail.
I recommend!
Point for improvement- we weren't acknowledged when we first came in for quite a while & took a while to take our orders. But otherwise lovely service.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 413jessicaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

We first found the Litton last year and after enjoying our stay then we decided we would return, which we did just after the New Year. Everything about the Litton is wonderful, the room was lovely tidy and clean, the food was very good, better than what we could remember from our last visit, so much so that we ate in for all three nights. But above all else the staff were the key to our stay, friendly and always willing to help out. A special mention must be made to Tom and George who went out of their way to ensure everything was just as we needed it. A wonderful stay and we will be returning

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrchrisrose-cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

This was an excellent experience from the ease of online booking to the great, service, food and ambience,
Everything worked well without fuss to a highly professional standard, we will be back. Highly recommended

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Treve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

A superb event with excellent food and outstanding staff who made every effort to make the lunch special. The day was topped off with the presentation of a box of chocolates on our departure. Well done to all at the Litton

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank BobY738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Litton also viewed

 

Been to The Litton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing