We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Stoberry House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoberry House
Ranked #5 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Without doubt this is the most perfect place. We have been lucky enough to stay in some of the best locations and hotels in the world and Stoberry House equals these. Frances and Tim are the most wonderful hosts. We stayed in the studio for a long weekend and enjoyed being separate from the house as we liked the freedom but the rest of the house looked fab too and was very relaxing with lounge, kitchen and gardens.

Frances' breakfasts are amazing - she is an extremely accomplished chef and can't do enough for her guests.

Stoberry House is a very relaxing place with amazing views over what can only be described as England at it's very best. We can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Stoberry House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 275 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2009

Everything that a luxury B&B should be and so much more...I really cannot find any fault with Stoberry house or its delightful owner Frances. The attention to detail and the warmth of the welcome went far beyond my expectations. The gardens are breathtaking, including the enchanting wildlife down by the ponds (ask to go and feed the ducks!) the rooms stylish, modern, and extremely comfortable. The breakfast (with fresh baked savoury scones, home made hollandaise (for eggs benedict) and the amazing fruit platters) was many time better than any I have encountered in 5 star hotels. Frances could not be more charming and was incredibly good with my infirm Father who needs patience and a kind heart. My only regret is that we stayed just one night (on our way down to Cornwall). Hence it is my intention to go down for a full weekend over the summer.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitehouseAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

There's not much to add to the previous reviews. Location, welcome, furnishings, bedrooms, view and gardens are all terrific. The continental breakfast is outstanding, making the cooked breakfasts an exercise in indulgence.
The bedroom was not large but the kitchen and lounge area for guests makes up for it.
Wells is but a short walk.
Price is mid-range for an exceptional B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishExpatGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B and were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.

Beautiful location with lovely gardens and surroundings, and just a few minutes walk from Well's centre.

The cooked breakfast (both veggie and non-veggie) was fantastic and kept us both filled up for the rest of the day!

Francis has done a wonderful job in opening her home to guests and is a terrific hostess.

We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julzinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne_and_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingGrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,045 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoberry House

Address: Stoberry Park, Wells BA5 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $118 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoberry House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 26 acres of parkland nestles Stoberry House and its beautiful 6 acre gardens with breathtaking views over Wells, its cathedral and the Vale of Avalon. Stoberry is unique being completely surrounded by countryside yet within easy walking distance of the City. This luxury boutique bed and breakfast lies in beautiful surroundings, comfortably furnished reception rooms lead to tastefully and individually decorated en suite bedrooms and I look forward to welcoming you to Stoberry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stoberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoberry House Hotel Wells
Stoberry House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing