We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Stoberry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoberry House
Ranked #4 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for one night at Stoberry. We were upgraded to the studio which was amazing. Francis has thought of everything and more, from the facilities in the room, the decor, and the breakfast. The setting is amazing with fantastic views over Wells and just a short walk down to the centre of Wells. Our breakfast was second to none, with everything homemade by Francis. There was so much choice and we spent 2 hours eating our food! Francis is the prefect host, and genuinely wants her guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. I would recommend Stoberry to anyone who wants a relaxing environment with lots of extras to make their stay even more special.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11randa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, It was so nice seeing you relaxing and enjoying our home cooking and taking advantage of all the taste experiences.
We look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 282 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Stoberry house for two nights in December and it was the most relaxing and luxurious bed and breakfast stay we have ever had. Frances and Tim really have thought of everything and we enjoyed being able to walk into Wells so easily. We felt really pampered from the moment we got there. We hope to go back in the Spring to see the garden with the bulbs in bloom!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lady Hamilton room which had a four poster bed, a lovely big bathroom and plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonBirdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, I am so pleased that you were able to enjoy a relaxing time with us at Stoberry. We would love to welcome you again, the bulbs are just starting to bloom !

Best Wishes

Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

It is hard to add anything new to the many glowing reports on Stoberry House and Garden that you will find in this blog. Suffice to say that we agree with everything that has been said by many others of this unique and special place to stay. It combines a level of luxury and a personal attention to detail that is unmatched anywhere that we have stayed, including the best hotels at home and abroad.

This is down to Frances and Tim who are warm and welcoming hosts and are ably supported by Wendy and Auric. That we have now stayed at Stobery House on six occasions bears testament to the fact that this is a gem, not to be missed.

The gardens are a haven of peace and tranquility, matching the view of Wells Cathedral, with beautiful works of art and sculpture made by local artists supported by Frances and Tim. Stobery Park is also part of the NGS and these lovely grounds are open to the public at certain times.

We look forward to seeing them early in 2014 and wish Frances Tim and family a very happy, peaceful and healthy Christmas and New Year. Lynn and John Travis, Melbourn, S. Cambs.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect but our favourite is The Studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time in your very busy life to write a review. It means a lot to us when guests write a review, we do enjoy looking after you. We will always try to reserve your favourite breakfast table. Look forward to seeing you in 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We only stayed one night at this wonderful place and can honestly say that I think it would be hard to top such an amazing experience. The grounds are breathtaking with spectacular gardens and views over Wells Cathedral. It was like staying in a top class hotel but without the stuffiness and pomp. It was friendly, intimate, relaxing and an absolute treat. We stayed in the Studio, which was private and so beautiful with antiques and sumptuous soft furnishing. A large stylish bathroom and everything you could possibly need to include hairdryer, iron, dressing gowns and much more. There are coffee and tea making facilities, along with a comprehensive selection of fine wines and whiskies at you fingertips should u wish to partake. Breakfast is unbelievable, we have never experienced anything like it. Frances is passionate about food and loves to bake and create the most fabulous delights. Several different freshly baked breads and pastries, fruits marinated and beautifully prepared, yogurts, mueslis, many conserves. Local cheeses, meats and fish. We ordered pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, delicious. We just wanted to taste everything! I am sure that we will never experience a breakfast like it again unless we return to Stoberry. Frances and Tim are so welcoming, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly return. L & S Wakefield.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnsi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Manager at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are looking forward to greeting you in the future It was a pleasure to have gusts who appreciate all the time we take at Stoberry House and Garden to give you the guest the best and most relaxing stay we can

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of November. My previous experience of Bed & Breakfast has typically consisted of an adequate bed, a greasy fry-up and a list of rules. To say Stoberry House was an eye-opener is somewhat of an understatement, which began with driving past the sheep on the driveway! We were greeted by Frances (who couldn't have done more for us if she'd tried), shown our rooms and were able to try two different rooms during our stay. We had the first night in the Silk Room and the second in the Aeonium. Tea was served in the guest lounge and books and advice on the local area piled up for us to browse through.

The touches provided make this a cut above the rest, from umbrellas in each room, torches for the walk back up the driveway at night from town, room mists, pillow sprays to having an actual 'pillow library' where you can choose exactly what suits you! The rooms are stunning, the beds massive and ridiculously comfortable, and when the curtains are closed you have no idea whether it's 3am or 3pm! There is a guest lounge with teas, coffees (and biscuits). Wine and other alcohol are available using an 'honesty box' system and is very reasonably priced.

Breakfast is an experience in itself. My usual expectations of a continental are a couple of croissants and some orange juice. Breakfast at Stoberry is rather more of a banquet. Everything (bar one jam!) is homemade! Our typical breakfast over the two days stretched to around five courses - fruit &yogurt, cheese, homemade bread (of a million different sorts), fish bites, pastries and scones, smoothies in shot glasses, various juices and, of course, croissants! Breakfast only tended to be finished as we couldn't physically fit anything else in. Always a disappointment as there were always so many things to try! I daren't even imagine what a cooked breakfast would have been like!! Oh, and there's a porridge menu...... I've never looked forward to a breakfast as much as I have at Stoberry!

Frances is always on hand for advice on where to eat and what to do and the house itself has a fabulous view over Wells Cathedral and a tantalising glimpse of Glastonbury Tor in the distance - both 'must do' activities! We didn't get a chance to explore the gardens as we had various plans and some quite dodgy weather but we will save that for next time!

The old adage "you get what you pay for" certainly applies here. We really pushed the boat out staying at Stoberry, something we don't do very often, and now I'm not sure how we'll cope going back to cheap and cheerful! We will certainly be back - there are a few rooms we've not tried yet! I look forward to staying in the studio - where our friends were celebrating their anniversary - absolutely beautiful!

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and beautiful with the Studio being the crown!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixietess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thanks for the review it was such a pleasure to read, I have shown your comment's to all the staff and they were thrilled ,it does mean a lot to us at Stoberry when our guests take the time to tell other travellers about us Thank you . It would be such fun if you came back for a house party with a murder mystery evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Absolutely wonderful, from arrival to departure. Host, Francis was so caring from greeting us on arrival in the car park, late in the evening to envelope us with her personal welcome in her fine drawing room with nibbles and excellent chosen wine, to relax prior to our evening meal which carried through to our departure two days after.

Francis attention to detail and every need carefully thought through was consistent throughout our stay. The breakfast table was faultless with a wide choice of homemade breads, pastries, conserves together with cold meat and cheese platters. Faultless.

Bedroom, spotless, quiet, well equiped even fruit bowl etc.- faultless. "special touches"

Gardens and home were lovely and we were so pleased to be to be able to share such grand views, magnificent gardens with one of the best hostesses by far. Will definately visit again. Could go on and on. Definately the best house B & B in the are. with many thanks

Room Tip: Any room at this establishment is of top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful review it was a real pleasure looking after you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a stopover at Stoberry House on our journey to Bath. Our arrival coincided with a deluge of rain but we had no sooner parked the car than Frances arrived with golfing umbrellas and guided us into the lovely house. After showing us to our room (which had been upgraded), Frances asked us to go downstairs into one of the lounges where we were greeted with wine and cakes which were most welcome. Fortunately, the rain eased and we were able to enjoy the afternoon in Wells. On our return we strolled through the beautiful garden which has a panoramic view of Wells and the Cathedral.

The next morning we had the best continental breakfast ever in the dining room overlooking Wells. . The table was laden with a tremendous array of food including - smoked salmon, a variety of hams, numerous cheeses (most of them local), cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit. The pastries of every description plus jams, marmalades, and a variety of breads and croissants were all homemade by Frances. The choice is so extensive it is unbelievable.

We walked down to Wells which is only about 10 minutes away and the short route takes you into the beautiful Vicar’s Close near to Wells Cathedral.

It was a lovely, relaxing experience and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

It was lovely to meet you and thank you for your thoughtful review,you are obviously very well travelled so your opinion is very helpful. Wells has so much to offer guests and you summed it all up so well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoberry House

Address: Stoberry Park, Wells BA5 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $149 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoberry House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 26 acres of parkland nestles Stoberry House and its beautiful 6 acre gardens with breathtaking views over Wells, its cathedral and the Vale of Avalon. Stoberry is unique being completely surrounded by countryside yet within easy walking distance of the City. This luxury boutique bed and breakfast lies in beautiful surroundings, comfortably furnished reception rooms lead to tastefully and individually decorated en suite bedrooms and I look forward to welcoming you to Stoberry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stoberry House Hotel Wells
Stoberry House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing