We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a Gem of a find”
Review of Stoberry House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoberry House
Ranked #4 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Venice
2 reviews
“Wow - what a Gem of a find”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Absolutely wonderful, from arrival to departure. Host, Francis was so caring from greeting us on arrival in the car park, late in the evening to envelope us with her personal welcome in her fine drawing room with nibbles and excellent chosen wine, to relax prior to our evening meal which carried through to our departure two days after.

Francis attention to detail and every need carefully thought through was consistent throughout our stay. The breakfast table was faultless with a wide choice of homemade breads, pastries, conserves together with cold meat and cheese platters. Faultless.

Bedroom, spotless, quiet, well equiped even fruit bowl etc.- faultless. "special touches"

Gardens and home were lovely and we were so pleased to be to be able to share such grand views, magnificent gardens with one of the best hostesses by far. Will definately visit again. Could go on and on. Definately the best house B & B in the are. with many thanks

Room Tip: Any room at this establishment is of top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review it was a real pleasure looking after you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
32
178
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a stopover at Stoberry House on our journey to Bath. Our arrival coincided with a deluge of rain but we had no sooner parked the car than Frances arrived with golfing umbrellas and guided us into the lovely house. After showing us to our room (which had been upgraded), Frances asked us to go downstairs into one of the lounges where we were greeted with wine and cakes which were most welcome. Fortunately, the rain eased and we were able to enjoy the afternoon in Wells. On our return we strolled through the beautiful garden which has a panoramic view of Wells and the Cathedral.

The next morning we had the best continental breakfast ever in the dining room overlooking Wells. . The table was laden with a tremendous array of food including - smoked salmon, a variety of hams, numerous cheeses (most of them local), cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit. The pastries of every description plus jams, marmalades, and a variety of breads and croissants were all homemade by Frances. The choice is so extensive it is unbelievable.

We walked down to Wells which is only about 10 minutes away and the short route takes you into the beautiful Vicar’s Close near to Wells Cathedral.

It was a lovely, relaxing experience and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
It was lovely to meet you and thank you for your thoughtful review,you are obviously very well travelled so your opinion is very helpful. Wells has so much to offer guests and you summed it all up so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We only stayed overnight after an evening concert at the cathedral yet were treated like royalty. To be personally met as our car drew up and then effortlessly ushered inside for a welcome cup of tea plus cakes, was great. Our host, Frances, was charming as she briefly explained the history of the house and showed us to our room. What a view! Below, the cathedral and beyond that, Glastonbury Tor.

The room temperature was absolutely right for us and there was enough cool air to make sleeping easy. There is a complete absence of noise and you don't hear any other guests coming in a little later. The room had everything you could possibly want, even a pillow spray.

Breakfast was at a civilised time of 9am and what really marks Stoberry House out is the way that you are treated. We befriended an American couple also staying and after pots of tea and talk it was 11am. There was no rush for us to leave and I could easily have poured myself a small whiskey, pulled up a comfy chair and curled up in the sun to admire the view but there is another day.

It is a beautiful house and well deserving of all the praise.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you very much and I have passed your review on to our staff who will really enjoy reading your comments, especially- "I could easily have poured myself a small whiskey, pulled up a comfy chair and curled up in the sun to admire the view but there is another day" and we are all looking forward to you both returning so that we can look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed five nights at the beginning of September at Stoberry House & couldn't recommend this B&B more highly.
We arrived to a glass of champagne & we were made extremely welcome. We stayed in the black orchid room, where every possible comfort was available, with a lovely en-suite shower.
The breakfasts were even better than we could have expected, with so much choice & everything possible being home-made. Frances was so inventive in using the fruit from the garden in different ways in her cooking. We loved your apple smoothies!
The gardens are so lovely to wander through & there are so many different parts to the garden that you can find plenty of quiet places to relax in or take in the lovely views of the lake & Wells.
As it is a quarter of a mile from house to the bottom of the drive, you are allowed to leave your car at the bottom of the drive & walk into Wells from there, which then only take five to ten minutes to walk into the centre.
There are plenty of good restaurants or pub food available & Frances is happy to advise or help with any bookings.
We celebrated our wedding anniversary during the stay & Frances kindly upgraded our room to the Lady Hamilton room for the night as it was available & the lovely touches of a heart & rose on the bed & the box of chocolates was much appreciated.
We would love to visit again in the future & will look back on this trip with many special memories. Many thanks to Frances, Tim & all their staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We all really enjoyed looking after you and appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Stoberry. Thank you for your very kind words of recommendation and I do hope you will stay again when you visit Somerset in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is the first visit to Stoberry House. A great long drive up to the house plenty of sheep grazing in the field running up to the house. A beautiful setting for a great B & B. with fantastic views over Wells & the cathedral. Greeted with afternoon tea & home made cakes which we had out in the garden. We had a great night sleep & awoke to an amazing continental breakfast. A return visit is most deferentially on the cards as we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dah9073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
we really appreciate positive comments from guests that enjoy everything that Stoberry has to offer and we are looking forward to greeting you in the future ,we are so lucky to welcome so many of our guests back to Stoberry and your review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stoberry House for 4 days after a week in London as a base for our exploration of The Glastonbury/Bath area. We arrived a little frazzled after an introduction to British roads behind the wheel of a rental car. The decision to stay at Stoberry was a very well-made one. Frances was able to meet all of our needs and a few we did not know we had!
1. An afternoon trip to Cheddar up a backroad no GPS could have ever found. Complete with a remote natural area along the way and views not listed in tourist guides.
2. How to find hot food later at night in a sleepy medieval town.
3. Evening relaxation on a hilltop property with life-changing views of Wells Cathedral, Glastonbury Tor, and a countryside Chaucer would recognize today. Entertained by frolicking rabbits, a fox pretending to hunt, mallards on the pond, and badgers atop a sett. Sheep bleating in the background.
4. An adventure of a breakfast that will make all others a meager and lackluster affair.

Hands down the best place we have ever stayed anywhere. We wish Frances and her family all the success in the world and hope to return soon. Stoberry House is perfect for travelers and small groups without young children who want to enjoy some peace and quiet away from urban hubbub and tourist-worn sites.

Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Reviews from guests who stay in many different places are so helpful as you have had so many experiences on which to make your comments; we do appreciate you sharing your thoughts on Stoberry and thank you for them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at Stoberry house for one night whilst visiting wells. We were looking for a unique and relaxing B&B experience, and found this with Stoberry house.

After driving up through the beautiful long tree lined driveway, we were greeted with an amazing selection of cakes and a good cup of English tea.

We were shown to Lady Hamilton, our room for the night, and spent a short while exploring the finer details of the room – the attention is detail is excellent! We chose a room with just a bath which was provided with lots of soothing bath salts and bombs.

Frances made us feel very welcome into her home, and made every effort to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. Every part of the house and gardens were open to us, and wine & spirits were available by completing an honesty card to be paid when we left.

We decided to opt for the continental breakfast which we had read much about, and was not disappointed. Frances took us through all the different home-made fruit mixes, yoghurts, and breads on offer, which was served on beautiful crockery. All the ingredients, locally sourced, and very tasty!

Would recommend this B&B for those who want to relax, enjoy the surroundings & grounds, and those who like the little luxuries in life. The house is well situated with a short walk into Wells.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
319 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coxley House
Coxley House
#3 of 37 in Wells
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoberry House

Property: Stoberry House
Address: Stoberry Park, Wells BA5 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoberry House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 26 acres of parkland nestles Stoberry House and its beautiful 6 acre gardens with breathtaking views over Wells, its cathedral and the Vale of Avalon. Stoberry is unique being completely surrounded by countryside yet within easy walking distance of the City. This luxury boutique bed and breakfast lies in beautiful surroundings, comfortably furnished reception rooms lead to tastefully and individually decorated en suite bedrooms and I look forward to welcoming you to Stoberry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stoberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoberry House Hotel Wells
Stoberry House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing