We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodney Stoke Inn

Rodney Stoke Inn
Ranked #17 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We happened on the Rodney Stoke Inn by accident.
Found a proper pub/restaurant that served good food with plenty of choice and decent portions - all at a very fair price. Staff were friendly, service was efficient.

If you want to eat somewhere that is clean, friendly and has a relaxing atmosphere, I would recommend the Rodney Stoke Inn

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    73
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited here at the start of September and we had a mixed experience. Our food was good and we had no problems. But we were served by a young girl called Amy who was rude and obnoxious...worth a visit but service is not good. Perhaps it is better on other nights.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top Notch Grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The pub is beautifully decorated, the staff are always very helpful and the food is scrumptious. The portions are pretty big so well worth the money.

I recommend having the steak and kidney pie as it was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sealfeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good place for a group of people with different tastes. We had a great evening there mid-week. Food tasty and plenty of it. Reasonably priced and a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallasey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good family dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

visited the Inn whilst staying at a nearby campsite. Disappointed that Saturday night was fully booked so arranged to visit following night. Excellent choice of food for both adults and children at a reasonable price. Made to feel welcome, pleasant atmosphere with staff child friendly. Whilst children obviously made welcome, child colouring menu, playground etc. it was obviously not just a "family " pub and I would have been happy to visit with just my partner the following day o

Unfortunately returning home the following day as otherwise we would have returned for a light bite at lunchtime.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodney Stoke Inn also viewed

 

Been to Rodney Stoke Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing