We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Accommodating.”

ASK Italian - Wells
Ranked #25 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ASK Italian in Wells is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Wells menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
SOMERSET
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always Accommodating.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We always eat here when we go to Wells. Friendly staff, good food at a reasonable price.
You can ask to eat in a quiet area and watch the Chefs make the pizzas. Comfortable, clean and close to Cathedral. The courgette deep fried crisps are delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GKWSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    165
    91
    32
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant when dining with kids”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We dined at Ask twice over the weekend. The first time was Friday evening and the second Saturday afternoon. Both times we had our children with us, aged 5 & 3.

Ask's attitude to children is fantastic. As soon as you are seated, drawing paper and pens appear and peace decends. The menu for them is brilliant, the portions and price just right. I often choose a pizza with extra chillis and a drizzle of oil, my wife a baked pasta dish, or something a bit lighter. The zuchini frites are lovely as is the calamari dish.

All in all this is a child centric offering, backed by good food, excellent, friendly, prompt service and reasonable pricing. Its our first choice in Wells.

Helpful?
Thank Spoursy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great For A Family Meal”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This restaurant was suggested to us by the owners of the hotel in which we were staying as a good place to go, especially with children. I wouldn't normally head to a chain restaurant, but this was a pleasant surprise. From the first moment we received friendly and attentive service, and the food was extremely tasty. The children had the set children's menu, which at £6.25 for 3 courses (definitely children's portions, but my hungry two left perfectly satisfied) was very good value. I had the two course set menu option at £10.95, which was more than enough so that pudding wasn't even considered! I had a very tasty mushroom and roasted shallot soup followed by delicious Calzone Cacciatore, but there is plenty more choice on the set menu. There was a nice ambiance, although if full I can imagine the acoustics might not work so well as it is quite echoey, but all in all, Ask in Wells is a really good option for a family meal, and good value too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rusticalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Busy, good atmosphere, and good pizzas!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very convenient position in the main square in Wells. Good friendly service on a busy Sunday evening. Food was well presented and tasty and the bill was reduced because we had printed off a discount voucher! The staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank splatterscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Waited then gave up”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Was in Wells and looking for somewhere for lunch. I had been wanting to try an Ask! Italian for a while and so we decided to head there. There was a couple infront of us waiting for a table already so we joined the queue. Although reasonably busy we only saw one waitress who rushed past us 2 or 3 times without acknowledging our existance. We waited a while, however with no acknowledgement that we or the couple infront were there and waiting and no idea of when or if we might obtain a table, we decided to give up and head somewhere else.
A real shame; a smile and some idea of when we might receive some attention would have made all the difference.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rg00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - Wells also viewed

 
 

Been to ASK Italian - Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing