We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vege food”
Review of cafe galatea - CLOSED

cafe galatea
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“great vege food”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Me and my friend went twice, first a special vegetarian meal, and on Sunday a roast dinner. Its was very nice and a good taste. Especially for my friend, for her was the first time she had vegetarian food, there's a wide range a food and desserts, also there is mead yummy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nebukatnesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    49
    14
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Tasty, freshly cooked organic, veggie and gluten free grub”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and I are regular visitors to Glastonbury and always try and eat here at least once. It is for us definitely the restaurant of choice. Being vegetarian and wheat free friendly makes a refreshing change, even more so when the staff know and understand the difference between wheat and gluten, which in my experience, very few do.

The café as others have said, is located in the heart of the main shopping street, next to Gothic Image and almost opposite the Assembly Rooms, which makes it very handy for those who are visiting one of the many conferences that take part in the town. While reservations are needed for the evening, lunch is an altogether more relaxed affair. It is though best to arrive earlier rather than later, as it does tend to get busy, especially at Bank Holiday weekends.

Drinks and cakes (many of which are also vegan and gluten free) are available throughout the day with lunch from 12 noon and evening meals (I believe) from around 6pm. While it is true that the main menu could be a little more varied, consisting mostly of bread with various toppings, rice cakes are available as an alternative accompaniment to those dishes that are not bread based, such as soup and the main course salads. Several daily specials are also available, at least one of which is always gluten free. When we visited, it was Lentil, Cheese and Oat Bake, which although not gluten free, was wheat free and so was more than suitable for us. It came with the usual array of salads, each with different dressings, which made for some nice variety and was washed down nicely with a mug of milky organic coffee. The Orange and Cointreau Ice Cream that followed as desert was refreshing in its originality with an interesting array of flavours.

As the food is freshly cooked it can take some time to arrive, but when it tastes this good, and one is on holiday anyway, who's complaining? Most of the ingredients it goes without saying are organic and locally produced, so you know that you are contributing to the local economy in more ways than one, unlike one of the faceless coffee shops and fast food joints, not that you will find these in Glastonbury anyway. With a main course with drink around the £10 mark (per person), the café represents excellent value for money well within the price range of the average visitor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeysirGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for Gluten free bods....”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I love this restaurant and go there every time I am in Glastonbury. the range of food differs from the usual salads and sarnies offered by others and is is adventurous - its well worth dropping in for a meal, snack or drink (they have organic drinks too some nice ciders!)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donnah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Tasty and healthy food, excellent service.I especially liked the salads - lots of different flavours squeezed on to one plate!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJC023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“FInest vegetarian fare”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On a short break to Glastonbury my wife and I ate at the Café Galatea on a busy(ish) Sunday night. Whilst there are quite a few vegetarian restaurants in the town the menu at this one stood out and we were not disappointed. We both had the Enchiladas as we love Mexican food and they were superb. The starters are excellent as well with a very wide choice. We finished off we a vegan chocolate cake which was awesome. Cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough as there is a nice relaxed atmosphere (very Glastonbury!) and the staff are friendly and efficient.
The harp playing was interspersed with some poetry which anywhere else would seem out of place but not in Glastonbury :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rob-Bewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe galatea also viewed

Butleigh, Glastonbury
Glastonbury, Somerset
 
Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing