We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of cafe galatea - CLOSED

cafe galatea
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Tasty and healthy food, excellent service.I especially liked the salads - lots of different flavours squeezed on to one plate!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJC023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    49
    14
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“FInest vegetarian fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

On a short break to Glastonbury my wife and I ate at the Café Galatea on a busy(ish) Sunday night. Whilst there are quite a few vegetarian restaurants in the town the menu at this one stood out and we were not disappointed. We both had the Enchiladas as we love Mexican food and they were superb. The starters are excellent as well with a very wide choice. We finished off we a vegan chocolate cake which was awesome. Cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough as there is a nice relaxed atmosphere (very Glastonbury!) and the staff are friendly and efficient.
The harp playing was interspersed with some poetry which anywhere else would seem out of place but not in Glastonbury :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rob-Bewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dining at Galtea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very interesting Latin influenced vegetarian menu served in an attractive and relaxed environment. Dinner was accompanied the the music of John Dalton playing a variety of music on his Celtic harp.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank trebor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I real find, er, but they'v been here 20 years?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

So why have we not eaten here before? Well, there is quite a choice in Glastonbury. I have to say, at first glance, it doesn’t actually look like a Restaurant. However, the food is wonderful. I have to say over the years the standard of food elsewhere in the town has lessoned a little, well a lot really. Perhaps this is why, on the night we were there, it was packed. Great vegan food, and willing to cater for special requirements. Service was great and very good price's. 2 starter, 2 mains, plus 2 bottles of Wine cost £62, totally amazing value when you taste the food. I thought the harpist was a cool touch and the friendliness of the atmosphere amazing. There wasn’t any free tables when we arrived and a young couple said, “sit with us” just before a table became available, which was lovely of them. The place could do with a bit of a make over and a tidy up, the tables were really tatty and ours banged back and forth. I had to ask for ours to be cleaned as well. But this is a small moan. All in all, a wonderful place, and we will be back....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont bother you will only be disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I feel that from some of the reviews that people have left they must have visited a different establishment than myself. We have eaten a few times here as we live in Glastonbury and it is the only Vegan Sunday lunch available in the town. Early 2012 you use to get a lovely nut roast real tasty and thick gravy and a good amount. The cook has obviously changed and the nut roast now is VERY bland. We complained the first time and was told we must ask for a different nut roast more vegetables and for the thick gravy. So giving it another try thats exactly what we did. You've guessed it it was exactly the same as last time tasteless. I don't know where this new cook trained but he / she should go back to school. The Galatea is now looking run down and if you look around in need of a good clean. I am sorry to write this being a local but they really do need to up there game or sell up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lindapage61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe galatea also viewed

Butleigh, Glastonbury
Glastonbury, Somerset
 
Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing