We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend with kids and dog”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Middlewick Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend with kids and dog”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just got back from a lovely weekend at Middlewick, our third visit and we enjoyed it as much as our first. A wonderful location in the shadow of Glastonbury Tor, which is a lovely walk away. Our two children loved the pool, the farm animals and freedom of the grounds while our dog loved the canine residents. Everyone is so welcoming, even when our dog misbehaved with a chicken! We stayed in the Springfield Cottage this time and will definately be going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    38
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
158
125
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We needed a break and found Middlewick Farm. We hired The Cabin, we were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Wonderful peaceful accommadation very friendly owners, we would certainly love to come back here next year. I think we will stay for longer as this place is a perfect area to stay and visit the many attractions somerset has to offer. The walk to the Tor was exhausting but well worth the climb.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueangel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights in one of the e-dens for a mini honeymoon after our wedding. We could not have faulted the place, everyone was very welcoming and a bottle of bubbly was placed in the e-den to congratulate us. We spent the two days sitting in the sun, cooking the fresh produce from the farm shop on the BBQ and going for country walks. The animals are all lovely and there are the friendliest funniest chickens you've ever seen! It was so quiet and relaxing, and amazing to see the stars when lying in bed. Thanks you so much, we hope to be back soon! Jo and Dan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Having described our unusual but not difficult needs we remain flabbergasted at the debacle of the holiday we DIDN'T HAVE at Middlewick Farm.
We were so excited to be staying and had explained our dog couldn't cope with being near other dogs at great length.
We were assured this wouldnt be a problem and we would be placed in a camping pod far away from other animals.
After my poor husband had to drag all our luggage a substantial way from the parking area to the actual pod I began unpacking. We were then told we were in the wrong pod, having been shown to wrong one! To cut a long story short it turned out there are dogs who live on the farm off their leads consequently terrifying our dog.
All of this and our wasted holiday could have been avoided simply if we had known this, as we wouldnt have booked.
We drove five hours and within thirty minutes of arriving found ourselves having to leave because despite our responsible and honest communication, this was not reciprocated.
Further the way it was managed was poor. We had a defensive owner focused on why it wasn't the Farm's problem totally disinterested in the fact we had lost our well earned holiday after a tough year and subsequently have had no apology and not even a partial refund.
It seemed like a nice place but we will never go back, dog or no dog and as a former local with lots of local family and friends we wouldnt recommend it.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blossomthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlewickcottages, Owner at Middlewick Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I am really sorry that you were disappointed with Middlewick. We are a dog friendly property and are always happy to have dogs here to enjoy the property. We have 2 very friendly labradoodles that are indeed free range on the property but are by no means terrifying to any dog. When the booking was made I did tell you we had dogs and that we may have other guests staying with dogs. The original booking was actually made for May bank holiday but you cancelled on the day you were meant to arrive. Even though we don't usually allow refunds at such late notice I allowed you to rearrange your holiday for a weekend in peak summer season instead. We were out of pocket for the original booking but sometimes things can't be helped and I like to accommodate wherever I can. The wrong pod confusion was because the original booking was made for the furthest away pod but with the rebooking of the holiday for you there was a bit of a mix up. For this I must apologise.
I am sorry you felt we were defensive but we were only defending our policy of being dog friendly for all who want to stay here. The 16 acres of grounds are meant for animals and people to enjoy together.
Yours Sincerely, Jill and Jonathan Barker, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in one of the E-dens for one night as we were visiting for the Bryan Ferry concert at Glastonbury Abbey. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome as we were shown round . The E-den was in a beautiful quiet area overlooking an apple orchard and had views of the Tor which was within walking distance. I loved the decor and the bed and pillows were pure luxury like lying on clouds! (Which we could see from the huge skylight window ) The kettle and toaster provided came in handy . The town is a short countryside walk away. Good private swimming pool and sauna onsite. We look forward to returning and recommend this place highly. J Harland

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joaharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have just spent a week in Russet at Middlewick Holiday Cottages with our 3 granddaughters. It was excellent in every way. The staff were warm and welcoming, very friendly and understanding of children's needs. Animals were delightful. The site is safe but exciting. We had several days just staying on the farm because the children were so engaged. Would highly recommend the site for either families, groups or individuals. The swimming pool is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed with our four year old for two nights in Blenheim, one of the cottages within the farm. The place was spotless, well-equipped, warm and welcoming. Gill and all the staff were generous with their time, even to the point of taking our son for a wander to meet the hens and goats and for a tour of the farm. The pool is lovely...indoor, heated and with excellent changing facilities. A walk up the Tor and lunch at the 100 Monkeys is a must. All in all superb. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OohChocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
4.5 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
128 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
291 reviews
1.4 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
987 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 52 in Glastonbury
268 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Red Lion West Pennard
The Red Lion West Pennard
#1 of 2 in West Pennard
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlewick Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlewick Holiday Cottages

Property: Middlewick Holiday Cottages
Address: Wick, Glastonbury BA6 8JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlewick Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning 17th Century Farmhouse and outbuildings set within sixteen acres of apple orchards, paddocks and gardens. Set at the base of Glastonbury Tor within walking distance of Glastonbury town centre or a short drive to Wells, England's smallest city. Ten self-catering stone cottages that sleep between 2 and 6 people, 2 log cabins and 2 Glamping E-dens. Indoor swimming pool and steam room. On site farm shop provides local produce. Plenty of farm animals for children to enjoy within this idyllic location. Large Function Room with catering kitchen also available for hire for groups and retreats. Entire complex can be hired out to accomodate 46 people. Equestrian facilities available for those wanting to bring their horse along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Middlewick Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlewick Holiday Cottages Glastonbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing