We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great food, very enjoyable”
Review of Meare Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meare Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great food, very enjoyable”
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed at Meare Manor for 3 nights over Easter, and we had a double and a twin room in the "Arthur" wing. The double was very large (king size bed, plenty of room to move around, large TV with Freeview), bathroom was fine (instant heater shower over bath that was OK - not a power shower but it worked fine).
Food was very good - cooked breakfast (full English, Smoked Haddock with Poached Eggs etc) very good and filling; and the evening meals were very good; not cheap but worth the money.
Location was ideal for visiting Glastonbury, Wells and Cheddar (which is what we wanted to do). The staff were very friendly and helpful, with lots of advise about things to do. The room was a little cold when we got there, but once we turned the radiator up it was absolutely fine. And we had an un-emptied teapot experience as well when we arrived, but it was easy enough to wash it out.
It is quite expensive for the type of hotel (more of a guest house, not a full service hotel) but still worth it, as we had a great time there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
22
71
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

It definitely WAS NOT smelling, nor was it a small room. We stayed in the UK for almost one month, and this was one of the largest rooms we had. It was VERY CLOSE to Glastonbury, and it was really charming to wake up to the sound of cows mooing, but for some, this might not be very good. The room was extremely LARGE. The manor was a lovely old place, but like old places, it was no HOLIDAY INN! (We didn't want this.) The distance to Glastonbury was not far at all, and we preferred to stay a bit away from all the hub-but there. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — The wonderful, countryside location
  • Disliked — The number of flights of stairs to get up to our room with two large bags
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sedonalady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

What a mistake! I could not wait to get out of this place. When I arrived, the trash bin in my room was already full, the teapot was dirty, and the kettle had not been cleaned and still had water in it from the last guest. The whole place smelled musty and fishy. When I said something, the lady at the desk said nobody had ever complained about the smell before. I can't give you a sample of the smell, but I do have photos of the dirty items I mentioned. The bed was terrible, it was just a dumpy room. I was told there would be no food that evening so I had to drive back in to Glastonbury to get something to eat, and when I returned the dining room was full of people eating. When I asked, I was told they were "walkers" who ate there all the time. I wasn't good enough to eat with them? Just as well if the kitchen was as dirty as the rest of the place.

I had to lug my bags up the stairs myself, there is no lift and nobody to help.

The only nice thing was the back garden, very peaceful.

  • Liked — garden
  • Disliked — the smell
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MzLiberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

A few miles outside Glastonbury, Meare Manor is not as grand as the name suggests. On-site parking and very helpful staff made up for the disappointment of a small double room and the restaurant being closed for the 2 days of our stay.

The inclusion of complimentary Sherry and Port in the room was a nice touch but was most likely factored into the tariff.

Wireless internet is available, but at a price. Access can only be purchased in 1-hour, 2-hour or 7-day packs. An unusual set of choices.

A pleasant stay but overpriced for what you get. Check the restaurant is open before booking.

  • Liked — Complimentary Sherry & Port in room
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2007

Nice out of town location but expectations were high for £110 a night. Was sadly dissappointed. Room was well decorated but the mirror looked like it had never been dusted as you could write your name in it. The central light fitting had an insect well and truely webbed in and the dust was thick at the back of the bed. The bathroom was adequate but of the same standard in any good B & B at half the price. The television didnt work initially and although the staff were very pleasant they didnt really know how to fix it, or which menu was the correct one at dinner or what the soup of the day was. On the positive side the food was very good both dinner and breakfast and the bed was comfortable. If charged £45 for a double I would have thought ok you get what you pay for but at over a £100 I am sure you can find better value for money elsewhere.

  • Liked — Staff were pleasant and bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — Dust and overpriced
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkKeen-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlaston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We found this hotel on the net - what a find! A typically english quirky privately owned hotel. We stayed in a large family room with 2 singles and a large four poster which must have been refurnished fairly recently - supremely comfy beds with crisp linen, sumptuous drapes, spotlessly clean room and bathroom, plenty of toiletries, well stocked 'tea tray', spirits at the foot of the bed (the type you drink!), TV with digital TV and a couple of comfy armchairs. We stayed as our son was swimming at Millfield School and the location was perfect for Street and other local attractions. The chef excelled with his food - all fresh produce, not fancy but cooked to perfection and our 11 year old was well catered for as the sauce was left off his chicken and served seperately (just in case he didn't like it!). We both had duck - lovely and pink! Good reasonably priced bottle of wine. Most delicious coffee was served in the drawing room after dinner while we watched the news - this is one of the very few hotels were I have felt relaxed enough to watch TV and not feel 'on show'. Service at dinner and breakfast was good (ignore the young waiters' piercing - it's probably just a teenage phase!) Don't be put off by the outside of the property (needs a bit of TLC) or the somewhat pot-holed driveway. Forget the chain hotels, try something different. Where else does the owner supremely attend to your needs whilst pottering about in his carpet slippers? Would certainly return!

  • Liked — Rooms, food, owner - relaxed, comfortable atmosphere
  • Disliked — Potholed driveway
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

We booked at the last minute as we needed somewhere to stay in the area to do some sights seeing ( Glastonbury, Chedder, Clarks Village etc). We paid £65 for the night, which was towards the upper end of what we wanted to spend, however found that it suited us perfectly. The bedroom was good and simple with a medium-soft double bed and clean on-suite and shower with soap, shower gel shampoo provided. In the rooms there was digital TV as well as a well stocked tea tray also containing sherry, port, and bottled water free of charge. Only issue with the room was that the tray had not been renewed as one of the water bottles was open and and one glass was dirty. However when we raised this with the receptionist these issues were resolved immediately.

The service was generally good however sometimes it was difficult to find a member of staff. We ate in the restaurant of the Manor and thought that the food was very good and reasonably priced. It was all freshly prepared and excellently presented. We paid £19.95 each for a three course meal and the food was at the standard i would expect for that price. Breakfast was good with a variety food on offer from full cooked breakfast, to fruit, to cereal, although i think the scrambled eggs moulded by a ramakin was overkill!

We did get the feel that it was quiet season for the manor, seeing only one other guest but perhaps that was to our advantage. Overall i would say this was a good solid place to stay and would return, although probably wouldnt pay any more.

One hint is that the hotel matched the internet price i found, such as those on laterooms.com which givbes you the piece of mind of booking direct but for an internet price.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Not being able to find the staff at times
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
303 reviews
3.4 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
451 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,023 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
96 reviews
11.3 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meare Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meare Manor

Property: Meare Manor
Address: 60 St. Marys Road | Meare, Glastonbury BA6 9SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meare Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Meare Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meare Manor Glastonbury, England
Meare Manor Hotel Glastonbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing