We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very comfortable and well kept, open plan...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The Old Stables Cottage
Spacious and bright living room
Spacious fully equipped kitchen and dining area
Higher Edgarley House and grounds, the setting for your cottage.
The shared garden and parking for the cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Duncan F
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing and certainly not worth the money.”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly the description of the property is a little misleading in as much as it is actually a converted garage and has no resemblance to an old stable at all. The interior was very basic and the furniture was old and shabby, none of which matched. The kitchen facilities were basic too, the utensils were old, the mugs looked like they came free with an Easter egg & the pots pans were very limited. The bedroom was directly opposite the cooking area where the old tilting oven & matching greasy extractor was. The toilet & shower room was very compact and had a distinct sewage smell probably due to the fact that the large sewerage tank was right outside the back of the building (surprisingly not shown on the photos !). On a positive note, the area was very nice, Glastonbury was lovely and we enjoyed our daily walks to the top of the Tor. I found it strange that there is only one other review of this property written approx a year ago.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26johng26
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very comfortable and well kept, open plan appartment.”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Everything is porvided here and all in immaculate condition. Very comfortable large bed. Just be aware this is a completely open plan one room appt, plus a bijou shower room, and if you are a large person the shower will not be for you. If you shared you would need to know your fellow guests very well. Very good for a moderately sized couple. In a very pleasant situation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly w
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in the cottage and our Son, Daughter in law and 18 month old grandson stayed in their campervan on the same location. We all had an absolutely wonderful time, and the location couldn't have been better. Ideally situated for all attractions. The cottage had everything for our needs and was cleverly designed for a couple. The dish washer was a bonus, bed was comfortable and the towels and linen were excellent quality. Just wish we'd booked in for longer. At this time of year the weather was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of cottage and location of campsite
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, very comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here because we were attending a hand fasting on Glastonbury Tor and celebrations in the town afterwards. We stayed in the Stable. Very tastefully furnished and the bed is super comfy. Well equipped kitchen and spacious living area. We had our 9 and 1 year old with us for whom we brought our own beds but the property does have a large comfy sofa bed as well. For us we would rent one with a separate bedroom in future as our kids are hard to get off to sleep and are easily distracted. Shower room is quite compact, has a nice powerful shower. Think this property is well insulated as it was lovely and warm so an all year round option too. Lovely surroundings and garden with garden furniture. Right at the base of the Tor with some lovely walks on your doorstep. Peaceful with just birdsong and sheep in earshot. Very relaxing, will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and peace
Liked least: would have liked better quality saucepans
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakke777
Eleuthera
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: el jardin
Liked least: la cocina y su equipamiento
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing