We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“The Perfect Home Away from Home”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Mill Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Emma C
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“The Perfect Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I can't say enough good things about our week at the Mill Barn. Coming from the US I was elated to spend time in the English countryside being lazy in front of a fireplace and this place did not disappoint.

Ann and Tony have thought of absolutely everything, from the adorable rubber ducky next to the enormous and amazing bathtub to the board games we found in the kitchen island. ( A lot of Monopoly was played!) I also loved that they left us some treats, milk, juice and wine upon our arrival, so thoughtful.

The Barn itself is such a wonderful size, and decorated so well I have half a mind to hire Ann for my new apartment. It just felt like our little place from the moment we walked in the door, and as my boyfriend can attest, it was difficult to get me to leave.

There is such a sweet pub just up the road, so if you want to get out for a few drinks and dinner it's very easy. ( The desserts there are amazing, so you should say yes to those)

We're already planning our return trip this summer for my birthday, and I can't wait!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: How perefectly put together the cottage was, and that Ann and Tony had truly thought of everything you could ever need!
Liked least: Wifi wasn't great, but that's to be expected and it actually made the week better being able to unplug :)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDally201...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, restful, beautiful property, very comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Great place to stay, highly recommended. The location is beautiful and we were sad to leave. Extremely clean and tidy with a lot of character. The owners Ann and Tony were lovely and very helpful. Superb!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Atmosphere
Liked least: Honestly can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Spacious, clean plus well equipped kitchen.
Liked least: The traffic around Stonehenge!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The setting and the house itself
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dandelion...
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our best self catering break yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed at the Mill Barn for three nights over the Easter weekend for a very memorable break.

Given the time, We like to research the accommodation for our holidays/breaks. The Mill Barn had a very good website with a lot of information and many photos. It looked exactly like what we were after and on arriving it even exceeded our expectations. The barn conversion was clearly done to a very high, tasteful standard retaining many original features. It was even more spacious than it looked in the website photos. A stream flows around the barn and there is a lovely, lowered stone seated area from which to enjoy it. The quiet and secluded location was ideal for us whilst being very close to Glastonbury (in fact, you can see it from the upstairs bedroom window!) and not far from many other Somerset towns and sights. Recommend seeing Wells if you have the time especially the cathedral and Vicar's Close next to it.

Some of the places we visited (and so can vouch for the ease of reaching) are Glastonbury (town and Tor), Street, Wells, Cheddar Gorge, Somerton and Dunster village/Castle. There are nearby footpaths if you fancy a walk with a circular route along the river and past some apple orchards and on to a village church. In nearby Keinton Mandeville there is a shop which seemed within walking distance (didn't try but guess 10 mins?) and also a pub a little further on. We'd read that The Golden House Chinese Takeaway in Street was excellent and we were suitably impressed, most tasty food!

The owners of The Mill Barn were warm, welcoming and helpful and on hand (living in the main house nearby) should we need any assistance. Our daughter was a little poorly one day and we appreciated the loan of a thermometer from Ann! The welcome basket on arrival was a nice touch too.

Heating was excellent and controllable on each radiator. The wood burner was great for a cool evening and added to the ambience. All furnishing were of a high quality as was the bedding etc. There was everything we could possible need in the kitchen and plenty of it, not just the bare minimum crockery, cutlery and utensils that some self catering places provide. A double oven with grill, microwave, dishwasher, fridge freezer, washing machine, TV, DVD, music docking station and wifi were amongst the facilities. Lighting could be adjusted to provide the right mood.

The bedrooms were spacious and uncluttered (one double bedroom downstairs and one twin (which can be made into a double) upstairs. The bathroom was also a generous size with a bath and walk in shower. Again all fittings and furniture were of a high quality. Plenty of storage in all rooms and surfaces to put things on.

We have to say that this is the best self catering accommodation we have yet had the pleasure to stay in and really cannot fault it. Not surprisingly, we would definitely recommend The Mill Barn to anyone considering it! The standard of accommodation, location, facilities and the helpful owners all made it a really wonderful break.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJakli
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: sehr schön ausgebaute alte Mühle mit schöner Terrasse in ruhiger Umgebung
Liked least: Internetempfang schwankte stark
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing