We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of character”
Review of The King Arthur

The King Arthur
Ranked #12 of 54 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Full of character”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Real log fire and good food here. Colourful locals are very friendly and chat readily.
It's a hotel too and they seemed quite busy considering it's out of season.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fiftytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    7
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great music, grumpy bar staff!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Came here as the live music advertised on the weekends is varied and different to many other places locally and having lived in Glastonbury for some time I was very excited by this. The music has been well thought out and the staff running this part of the venue appear to be doing an excellent job, despite generally appearing young!
However, although some of the bar staff really are very friendly and helpful, I have to agree with the review before, on the whole I find the service on busy nights rude and unfriendly and overhearing one of the young women behind the bar telling a customer they couldn't buy the last bottle of wine as other 'customers' may want some and implying that it was too expensive in a very rude way, I was then disgusted to discover she was a manager! She then proceeded to be rude to a member of staff in front of everyone at the bar! I now do not go to the bar in the front of the pub and thankfully when there is music on they now open up a bar in the back which I have since always found to be manned by capable members of staff with great customer service! Busy nights are surely stressful but that is no reason for rudeness, especially to people who are paying to be there! And don't get me started on the dogs..................

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 42kittenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great music & venue, shame about the atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've always been a massive fan of the King Arthur, known for its great garden especially in the summer, and great music nights. The music nights are continuously good and I believe are just getting better and better, great bands for cheap entry fee if any at all, great space and different areas of the pub you can go too! Unfortunately the lovely venus is ruined by the atmosphere and some of the staff, on a number of recent occasions I've experienced major rudeness behind the bar, bad attitude, really unhelpful when it comes to selling drinks, fair enough if a busy pub has run out of something, but at least offer something else as opposed to making you feel you should leave.....obviously no customer service training has been done, and its a real shame that such a lovely pub in the heart of a lovely community has such a bad attitude and seems to hate people so much!

I believe this place has amazing potential and I will continue to go here for the great music nights, but the staff really need to get their smiles sorted and if they want to get the good bands in and be as successful as it seems to be....they need to prepare to be packed at the bar and for it to be busy and be happy about this....or at least to pretend to be, thats what hospitality is all about! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AriaSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great effort from the new management.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great new menu. Lovely vibe beautifully fires. Fab music a must. Less kids now. Great range of local ales ciders and spirits from around the world. All the meat is local. As well as local sorced fruit and vwg

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxwellwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Character by the bucket load”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

As a new venue in Glastonbury (I was told they had only been open 4 weeks at the time of our visit) praise is due to the staff and management who have created a local pub serving quality home cooked food, a fine slection of drinks wrapped up with live music every day and character by the bucket load. All served up with a generous helping of 'Value for Money' which is truely an achievement in difficult times.

I entered the King Arthur with no great expectations, but enter I did, to be met by warm friendly staff, all young and enthusiastic, blending youth and confidence managing local regulars with new punters, offering advice and guidance in both the consumption of food and drink (the home made Humus was exquisite and worthy of any 5* restaurant). We had Sunday lunch and returned for the music and a late supper, staying locally in Glastonbury.

In all, the people and pub served up character in abundance, all topped off with an evening of music providing a back drop of rock, folk and country sounds all adding to the mix and infusion of personality. I wish more places like this existed. As a resident in Worcester I will be sure to visit again when next in the parts. Places like this are few and far between and the management should be proud of what they have achieved in only 6 weeks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King Arthur also viewed

 
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to The King Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing