We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay for the Spiritualy Minded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arimathean Retreat B&B
Ranked #16 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Sedona, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay for the Spiritualy Minded”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and the rooms are quite comfortable. I would not consider staying elsewhere if I return to Glastonbury. I came to fall in love with the atmosphere. If I do return, it will feel like home. There are not many b&bs you can say that about.

This b&b is also a spirital retreat that offers healing, spiritual counseling, yoga, readings, even regressions to a past life. But the magic is the owner who has been teaching yoga and spiritual practices since the 60s. She creates a incredible atmosphere of warmth and harmony. When you sit down for breakfast it feels more like you are visiting a friends home, than a hotel.

They have two wonderful border collie dogs that add to the charm. And a backyard that is stunning for a mainstreet b&b.

There are a few things that could possibly dissuade you from visiting. They prefer to maintain a calm atmosphere. For this reason, they do not have televisions and prefer that you abstain from using computers (there is no wi-fi). Also, they lock the front door at 11pm.

They only have three guest rooms, so book well in advance.

One last tidbit. If you take the bus from Wells or Bristol (376), it stops in front of the b&b (the first stop in Glastonbury).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newager23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I adore this place, stayed last weekend with some friends as we were attending a workshop. I could have happily moved straight in and never left. The lady who runs this guest house is wonderful, so friendly and welcoming. The decor is superb, the details are seen to from candles and oil burners to a power shower. The breakfast is amazing, everything from fresh toast with every preserve under the sun, porridge, fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, fresh coffee, cereals and a variety of different teas. The gardens here are incredible and are worth a visit in their own right :-) thank you for a wonderful stay I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redders16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenburn, ME
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay in Glastonbury and the proprietors made me feel very much welcome. I love dogs and they have several. There was always tea available and the breakfast was more than I ever eat when I prepare my own. The room was quiet and I slept peacefully even though the Retreat is in the heart of the old town. I loved being able to come and go as I wished and to explore the village and shops.

Room Tip: I was on the main floor and near the kitchen in a lovely room with its won entrance to the gar den a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Arimathean Retreat is a peaceful oasis right in the centre of Glastonbury. It has charming rooms, comfortable beds, friendly hosts and a brilliant breakfast! The decor and furnishings in the rooms have obviously been carefully considered to maximise the feeling of homely comfort; quality fabrics and matching cushions, with orchids and chocolates adding the finishing touches. Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MissB992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A beautiful cottage in the centre of Glastonbury, that is a little slice of peace. The rooms are decorated in a way that promotes calm and restfulness. The house and hosts are warm and welcoming, but never intrusive
The breakfast was plentiful: good food and good company is a lovely way to start the day.
I was on an inner retreat and it was my first experience of meditation, Karen and Lisahannah were gentle, encouraging and spiritual. I felt cared for, nurtured and special, It is an experience I would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola_J_M_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The first time was in April, the second time in August en the third time celebrating new year. I just keep coming back to the place that feels like home, amongst others thanks to the good care of Lisehanne and Karen.
If you like to spend time on yourself, have some truly meaningful conversations and workshops and enjoy Tor's Tour of the Tor, this is the place. I love it and recommend it to anyone. Marco

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvdwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Glastonbury is a place you go usually on some sort of a pilgrimage. This was definitely the perfect place to go for such a thing. It Ground Zero and the place you need to be a better experience to happen. The Keepers let your experience be whatever it needs to be. They are so accommodating intuitive and wonderful. I have gone year after year and I can't imagine staying anywhere else I look forward to this family extension that I have developed

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tfnybrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
0.2 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
444 reviews
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sacred Garden Retreat
Sacred Garden Retreat
#10 of 22 in Glastonbury
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 53 in Glastonbury
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arimathean Retreat B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arimathean Retreat B&B

Property: Arimathean Retreat B&B
Address: 59 High Street, Glastonbury BA6 9DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Retreat on the High Street. A sanctuary of peace & tranquility in the heart of sacred Glastonbury. Beautiful 15th Century B&B with a warm, homely and holistic feel. Relax in your unique & high quality room, put your feet up by the fire, listen to the sound of the fountain in the garden pagoda or explore within walking distance all the sites. A wonderful experience in itself. Deep relaxation, yoga & meditation on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arimathean Retreat B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arimathean Retreat B&B Glastonbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing