We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalice Well

Chalice Well
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.52*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Glastonbury
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Please visit the gardens if you have the chance! They are not like other gardens you may have visited and the Chalice Well will surprise you in the best way!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beci3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    141
    47
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chalice Well”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Beautiful gardens and well. Potentially very tranquil if it hadn't been for the school trip of about 30 french children there at the same time. Ruined the visit

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews here, I can only reiterate points made by others. Please do not take your children here unless they know how to be quiet! It's a very peaceful place to sit for a few hours and that's the whole point of it!
The gardens are very well maintained and there are some very special places to sit and meditate. I'm not of any faith and it doesn't matter one bit. The only god reference was in the gift shop and the fact that there's some of the holy thorn there. But just go and appreciate the beauty and serenity about the place.
I'd recommend going on a dry day, although there are a couple of shelters. And take some bottles! The waters are full of iron and very good for you!

Helpful?
Thank Cavegirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

A truly lovely find. The gardens are beautiful and definately are touched with magic. There are little quiet areas where you can sit and ponder, you can walk through the trickling waters and bathe your feet and dont forget your bottle to collect some from the lions head spring. (They do have bottles in the shop if you forget) Met some lovely people. Fab atmosphere. Will definately visit again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank StrikingViking-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Love the gardens - beautiful place for mediating, and nice way of coming home to myself. I also love the Chalice Well retreat centre, where I have stayed on some of my visits which is like a home away from home for me. To me, Chalice Well, is the place to visit in Glastonbury.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SkatingGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalice Well also viewed

Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to Chalice Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing