We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Warmest Welcome”
other travelers have booked this property
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Moonstone is part of an old terrace of cottages built in 1790 A single parking space by the front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Moonstone is part of an old terrace of cottages built in 1790
A single parking space by the front door.
Welcome!
Welcome! Nourish your soul with candles, wood burner, films, books, music, games for the children...
The TV & dvd player is located under the stairs opposite sofa. Sofabed sleeps 2
The arm chair is newly uphostered (formerly red). Photo Jan 2018.
The stairs lead to the two bedrooms and family bathroom
A single parking space outside the door. Church lectern with maps and leaflets
You will never want to leave!
Cottage kitchen seats 5. View through conservatory to garden. Treats in fruit bowl. Photo Jan 2018
Dishwasher, ceramic hob, fan oven, blender, microwave, coffee maker, percolator and much more.
Chalk board at child's height. Fermented grapes bottle in fruit bowl for adults.
Kitchen patio through conservatory which houses laundry faciilities. Double doors onto patio
Electric shower over bath, hand shower below, views over gardens and Abbey grounds. Photo Jan '18
View from bathroom and small bedroom. January 2018
Edible herbs, log shed on left, first arch leads onto lawn with swing seat, grape vine, roses, shubs
Second arch behind lawn leads to raised patio overlooking Abbey grounds
The swing seat under the grapevine
Nectar of the Gods!
Take it slow, have a lovely rest here!
Raised terrace with extensive views over Abbey grounds. Table now on kitchen patio, see next photo
New furniture for 2016. This was a warm day in January when Abbey ruins are visible
Normally a peaceful and serene space, Glastonbury Abbey comes alive at numerous special events.
Conservatory has washing machine, storage space, backs to kitchen and patio
New double thickness mattresses Jan 2018, salt lamps in each room, toys and children's books.
Stairs monitored by Audrey
Memory foam mattress topper has received much praise.
There are two wardrobes, one with shelves, one with hangers. Tor view
The main bedroom is larger than it looks on the photo!
View of Tor from the Master bedroom, Rural Life Museum across the road.
One cosy winter's day
Magical Christmas at Moonstone.
Glastonbury Tor at sunset
4 minutes walk to the Chalice Well and Tor footpath
Welcome!
The old oaks, Gog and Magog are 2000 years old.
The Dorset coast is just over an hour's drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
eleanord2...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Warmest Welcome”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My friends and I had the pleasure of staying at Moonstone Cottage for a long weekend in mid-May. Our host Katarina could not have been more welcoming. Walking into the kitchen, we found a delicious home made cake waiting for us on the kitchen table, together with other goodies. So thoughtful! After showing us where to find everything (the cottage is amazingly well equipped), we settled in to the most relaxing stay we could have imagined. Moonstone has a wonderfully tranquil feel. We were a little concerned the cottage might be noisy as it is located on a busy road - but this turned out not to be the case at all. Maybe it's the 3 foot thick walls, but it was so quiet we could hear a pin drop. The garden is beautiful, and backs directly on to the grounds of Glastonbury Abbey. Moonstone is also perfectly located for all there is to see and do in Glastonbury. Just five minutes' walk to Chalice Well, and a few minutes further takes you to the bottom of the Tor. In the other direction, the Abbey is just around the corner and the town centre with all its shops and local supermarkets is only a ten minute stroll from the cottage. We had a wonderful stay and are already planning our next visit to Moonstone. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianantony
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage with everything you need for a comfortable stay”
Reviewed February 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a wonderful week at Moonstone Cottage. The host Katarina could not have been more helpful, she'd even baked us an amazing cake and had the log burner lit ready for us. The cottage is beautiful, immacualtely clean and really comfortable and cosy. Short walk into Glastonbury town and lots to see in surrounding area. Would highly recommend this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host was brilliant
Liked least: Nothing, loved it all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizD572
Dalby, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and owners. Home away from home.”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful stay. The cottage was beautiful, and had everything we could possibly need. So warm and cozy. The owners were so lovely, anything we needed, they couldn't be more helpful.

It was like a home away from home and we were sad to leave.
The location for Glastonbury and the greater Somerset area was fantastic.

Great value for money, with 3 adults staying very comfortably, for 8 nights.

We will stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozy feel of the cottage, and the very kind owner.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally H
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A wonderfully warm welcome, with a special touch of chocolates and wine. We travelled with our 14month daughter and even plug socket protectors had been put there for us to use as well as toys DVDs, books, etc. we felt at home straight away in fact I don't think the pictures do it justice in reality it's even better. You can feel and see the love and care that's put in and the special touches that make you feel cared for such as the lovely home baked cake that Emily specially enjoyed.
Although the owners live next door please those of you that this may put off don't let it as they are not intrusive at all but are at hand if you need anything. Nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful cottage and lovely warm people we will defiantly be back and would highly recommend moonstone to anyone! X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail making it special
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleBea...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

5 star all the way !!! Even the homemade cake !! Yummy !!! Fabulous week... the best we've stayed at in 12 years.. thank you Katarina we will be back !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bren P
East Bergholt, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed here last weekend 1 - 5th May 2015 and had a fabulous time. This is a beautiful cottage in a beautiful place. Moonstone Cottage is well situated, within walking distance of the town, Chalice Well, Tor and Glastonbury Abbey. Moonstone is fully equipped with every thing you need, the owners only next door so if we needed them they were always available. We will be back...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanManch...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy cottage with a very friendly warm welcome.”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Enjoyed a relaxed and interesting week in Moonstone Cottage with my family this Easter. Katarina the owner gave us a lovely warm welcome explaining about the cottage and surrounding area.A bowl full of treats awaited us in the kitchen- chocolates, wine and fruit. The cottage had everything we needed and was very cosy and comfortable. We enjoyed beautiful sunrises over the tor from the bedroom window and the back garden overlooks the abbey grounds. Lots of interesting places to visit less than half an hour away - Wells, Yeovil Air Arm Museum, Cheddar Gorge. Highly recommend Burns Bakery and Knight's fish and chip restaurant in Glastonbury.
Highly recommend this spotless cottage and would certainly book again if heading this way in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing