We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty cottage, many sights not too far away”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rowan Cottage

Rowan Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowan Cottage
Sitting Room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Rowan Cottage
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Kitchen
Sun Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Courtyard Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert H
Gundelfingen, Germany
1 review
“Pretty cottage, many sights not too far away”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Nice cottage, the rooms are great, the bathroom is a bit small, though. Worth its price, maybe wifi in some days?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2016
Dear Robert, thank you for your feedback. The Wi-Fi has now been moved to give a uninterrupted connection. Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroH23
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage has a 'friendly' feel to it on entry down a pretty wild-flower-lined winding front path. It has everything you need for your stay and is quite quirky (in a nice way!).The sunny conservatory and back yard are a plus too. Don't be put off by its surroundings - a disused commercial property to the side (but useful extra parking there) and to the rear and it's on the busy Wells Road - not an attractive area. However, it's within walking distance of the town centre and tor and if you walk the other way you can be strolling down country lanes within five minutes. It's was a great bolt-hole for a family weekend and was just what we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great BASE”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We Booked Rowan Cottage for a month as I had a work contract nearby. It was an excellent base and the owner helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nialloyd
Cardiff
1 review
“Cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

After our stay last weekend, me and my boyfriend agreed that this is a great little cottage to stay in. With a quiet location and good links to local shops/sights it was easy to walk around the area and nice to come back to a comfortable bed.

Only seen the other reviews after our stay and we have to say, it is much better than some of the comments say!

Great little get-away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location that was also close to local amenities
Liked least: The lack of wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plumpina
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A winter break for two”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We had a lovely relaxing time at this proerty. We had everything we needed and although the cottage sleeps more we were very cosy with the two of us.
The location is very good for attractions and travelling around the area. Also handy on a cold day if you run out of something and need to nip to the shops.
We were visiting old friends and preferred to stay Solo and have some time to ourselves and this worked perfectly especially coming up to Christmas..
We would stay again if the opportunity arose. A comforatable hassle free stay with everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a clean and welcoming house that we could feel at home in.
Liked least: There was no real negative.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magrat G
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awful, not as pictured and dirty”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
4
people found this review helpful

The room I stayed in had stained brown marks on the sheets, the mattress was so disgusting, the pillow cases were all stained. We had to go to the shop and buy bedding to sleep, and I slept with all my clothes on, The mattress was so bad we woke up with back pain, we all did! I am really not difficult to please but if you are renting a place out as a holiday let , does it cost that much to make sure there is clean bedding and towels, I would never recommend this place and I will never go back! I am not sure how previous people gave it an ok rating, I am wondering if they just didn't bother cleaning the place after a while. Oh and the back window gives you a nice view of the most awful trashy concrete place ever, I am not even sure what it was back there other than a dump. The pictures this site show are not like the place at all. Honestly even with the awful back view , I would not have minded the location so much if the place was cleaner - the mattresses all need to be thrown out - oh and do not lift the sheets off the sofa either, no I can't find anything nice about it, just the grossest place I have ever been to. We considered leaving the bedding we bought but I decided not to because after paying for something that was as misrepresented as this place there was no way I was also going to gift bedding for the entire place and towels as well!

hopefully the man who gave us the key will read this and clean the place to rentable standards, forget rentable, just normal hygienic standards would be nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing really
Liked least: how filthy the mattresses and bedding and towels were
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2016
I regret that you were dissatisfied with your visit to Rowan Cottage, I appreciate that it was a difficult time for you as you had a very new baby.  We did respond immediately to your concerns, with a personal visit to rectify your issues.  At the time your expressed gratitude and satisfaction.  We take cleanliness at the Rowan Cottage very seriously and since your visit in 2013 all of the matters you mention have been rectified, along with new mattresses and wide range of improvements to the house.  Since then all of our guests have been completely satisfied with the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing