We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Hawthorns Hotel

Hawthorns Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorns Hotel
Ranked #30 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We spent Friday and Saturday here, the rooms were clean but in need of some upgrading. We did not have an evening meal here but we believe the currys are very good. When we arrived the very nice owner told us that there would be a birthday party on with live music but it would be finished by 11pm to be honest we were not disturbed by the music etc. All in all The Hawthorns represents value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazzybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorns Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 54 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here for one night last July.Very good value for money.The staff were very friendly and helpfull.Didn't have an evening meal here,but the food did look good whilst we were passing through.Had the buffet breakfast,which was well needed after a full day of drinking in the town.The room was a good size and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Worth seeking out for the Thursday night curry club & a great range of live music events. The owner has won awards for his curry & rightly so. Great value, with a range of dishes from different regions each week. Check out the website for current live music events, as there is always something interesting happening - with a weekly Open Mic on Tuesdays.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

When we arrived there was no answer at the door nor the phone numbers which were advertised on the sign. He did eventually turn up and apologise, he was very friendly although the reception area was full of junk and looked a bit like a jumble sale very dark and dingy. The hallways did smell a bit, but he took us to the room and welcomed us in. The mugs had tea stains in which put us off using the kettle. Lots of the fittings in the room we're loose or even upside down? The tiles had been painted but you could see the paint had come off half of them. The twin beds in the room turned out to have very soft mattresses which we personally liked and did sleep very well. Couldn't hear any noise from the street. The TV worked fine. Generally we thought the room was very dated and tired, could do with brightening up. Wouldn't stay again as I thought £65 for one night was very overpriced.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great location, 50 yards from High Street,very friendly host and staff, warm welcome and cosy bar area, very good food , we didn't try the curries but other guests were very impressed, would happily try on another visit, The room whilst comfortable was very basic with one uncomfortable chair and a stool, no guests guidebook , no clock/radio, no wifi . Sadly the bathroom was appalling there was black mould growing on all the tile grout for the first two feet in the shower cubicle and the toilet seat was so loose that I fell off the toilet, very poor cleaning. A shame really because apart from the lack of cleaning it was a nice place to stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badger6359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Thursday night, tired and hungry and fortunately,( because it is a pub after all!)very thirsty. Never having sampled the delights of Simon's curry night before, I was not nearly as excited as I would have been had I been to a curry night before. Five curries (two meat, two veggie and one fish). poppadoms, pickles, nan bread and rice - all you can eat for £13.50 a head! I don't know how he does it for the money because all the curries were absolutely superb. Simon has a reputation as an extremely talented curry chef built over some 20 years and by golly it shows. The range of tastes and the intricacies of the spice blends have to be tasted to be believed. I tried the fish curry last and almost missed out on my "fave rave" because I was so full, but one taste and there was no way that bunny was getting away! A very happy night. Thank you Hawthorns x

Room Tip: Didn't stay here, just had the meal
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Hawthorns for Glastonburys busiest weekend of the year and quite honestly, wouldn't have stayed anywhere else. Despite the demands of the carnival and carnival goers, there was a full menu and wine list plus live music on Friday evening. The currys are always a treat! The b&b rooms are warm, welcoming and clean, and breakfast always yummy and a very relaxed start to the day. Rooms at the front of the building can be a little noisy as revellers head home after the festivities but that's ok with us. Simon and his team did a fine job and we, as always, cannot wait to go back - thanks everyone x

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nell222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
0.0 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Sheppey Inn
The Sheppey Inn
#1 of 1 in Lower Godney
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Who'd A Thought It Inn
Who'd A Thought It Inn
#42 of 53 in Glastonbury
112 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion West Pennard
The Red Lion West Pennard
#1 of 2 in West Pennard
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorns Hotel

Address: 8 Northload Street, Glastonbury BA6 9JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range: $120 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorns Hotel Glastonbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing