We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crackin' curry night!”
Review of Hawthorns Hotel

Hawthorns Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hawthorns Hotel
Ranked #30 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“crackin' curry night!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Thursday night, tired and hungry and fortunately,( because it is a pub after all!)very thirsty. Never having sampled the delights of Simon's curry night before, I was not nearly as excited as I would have been had I been to a curry night before. Five curries (two meat, two veggie and one fish). poppadoms, pickles, nan bread and rice - all you can eat for £13.50 a head! I don't know how he does it for the money because all the curries were absolutely superb. Simon has a reputation as an extremely talented curry chef built over some 20 years and by golly it shows. The range of tastes and the intricacies of the spice blends have to be tasted to be believed. I tried the fish curry last and almost missed out on my "fave rave" because I was so full, but one taste and there was no way that bunny was getting away! A very happy night. Thank you Hawthorns x

Room Tip: Didn't stay here, just had the meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Hawthorns for Glastonburys busiest weekend of the year and quite honestly, wouldn't have stayed anywhere else. Despite the demands of the carnival and carnival goers, there was a full menu and wine list plus live music on Friday evening. The currys are always a treat! The b&b rooms are warm, welcoming and clean, and breakfast always yummy and a very relaxed start to the day. Rooms at the front of the building can be a little noisy as revellers head home after the festivities but that's ok with us. Simon and his team did a fine job and we, as always, cannot wait to go back - thanks everyone x

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just go and stay. Maybe for a night or two. We did and ended up putting off work to stay another in this laid back home from home with Simon and co. Comfortable room, warm staff, tremendous food from the open kitchen and creative entertainment most nights must surely make this THE Place to stay in Glastonbury for those in The Know!
Didn't have an award winning curry this time as the other dishes on offer were just too tempting- rabbit in red wine the and mackerel salad were superb and good value, allowing more to be spent on wine and well kept ale.
Grab some friends and and maybe a dog or two and enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms at front quiet, no chillers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A delightful night at the Hawthorns, in an interesting warren of creaky rooms above an old and cosy pub/diner. Service was impeccable in every way, the vegan options were again excellent (and hefty!), and the wine list good. Thank you - we shall return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

thanks for a great stay we had a lovely time and so did our dogs, fantastic location right in the town, your curry dishes were great, and the breakfast was very good, nice room good service will come back again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7 which is a very large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First off, it was £55 [single occ / night] for B&B ...you're not going to get the Ritz for that kind of money. However, after that reality check for the slightly unrealistic amongst us, what DO you get ?...You get : 1. Superb service. 2. Very clean spotless room and bathroom, right in the centre of town. 3. Breakfast [hot and cold] that would put most of the big chains to shame quality wise -and- plenty of it. My favourite hotel is the golden nugget in vegas. I've been around plenty more of that standard (just so you know my total perspective) My point here is - I've never stayed anywhere for £55 and had THIS standard as described above. I always try to go expensive so I can get quality - this wasn't so easy in a small town like Glasto. It wasn't the golden nugget but I didn't need to fret, Simon [the owner] has a little gem !! [really] -
PS...steep stairs for oldies !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After reading the very mixed and often bad reviews about this place I was unsure about booking, however we had a very pleasant stay there and would definitely stay again. Myself and two friends stayed in the family room. There was one double downstairs in a large room with table and chairs, and a really cute and cosy bedroom up some stairs. Although not the newest furnishings etc everything was very clean and the place felt very homely. We were given a lovely warm welcome by a lady on the bar and had a quiet stay (no noise noticed from anywhere) and a lovely buffet brekkie. We would all definitely go again - very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
0.0 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
453 reviews
3.4 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Who'd A Thought It Inn
Who'd A Thought It Inn
#32 of 53 in Glastonbury
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spirals Bed & Breakfast
Spirals Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 53 in Glastonbury
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sheppey Inn
The Sheppey Inn
#4 of 22 in Glastonbury
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorns Hotel

Property: Hawthorns Hotel
Address: 8 Northload Street, Glastonbury BA6 9JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hawthorns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorns Hotel Glastonbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing