We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”

Review of Walnut Cottage

South West face
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South West face
Children's play house Kitchen and Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
South West face
Children's play house
Kitchen and Dining Room
Kitchen and Dining Room
Garden
Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Downstairs Bathroom
Garden patio
Entrance
Entrance and Hall
Laundry
Southwest face
First floor plan
Ground floor plan
Barton St. David church
Glastonbury Abbey
View looking towards Glastonbury Tor (roughly 6km North North West)
Walnut Cottage garden
Deer running through field next to Walnut Cottage
Glastonbury Tor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
JC102014
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful cottage in a peaceful location but within easy reach of local amenities and tourist attractions. Very well equipped kitchen, family friendly, the owners are lovely and just on your doorstep if you need anything. Huge garden for kids to let off steam with a playhouse, trampoline and swing. A well deserved 5 star rating for this cottage - one of the best we've stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the location
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo V
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great second stay !”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely property. Nicely decorated. Very good bedding. Real nice garden.
However, if you like or need a quick and good working internet connexion, this is missing. Internet is just working to send mail.
If however you don’t need internet, great please to be !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bedding
Liked least: internet
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
65BeeCee
White Rock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay here very much. We have never stayed in a house so comfortable, well-equipped, and peaceful. The hosts could not have been nicer. We feel very lucky to have found such a perfect place during our once-in-a-lifetime visit to England, and the memories continue to enrich us.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KediYavru...
London
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Walnut cottage is the most amazing place to stay. The cottage is in a quiet, traditional Somerset country village set in lovely gardens with views across the countryside. We were there in November with our 2 young children and my parents and everyone had the most wonderful time.

The cottage itself is beautiful, decorated to an amazingly high standard and fully equipped with everything you could need. It is heated to a perfect temperature throughout and there is also a wood burning fire if you fancy that lovely feeling of sitting by an open fire in winter.

It is in a great position for exploring the Somerset countryside and just 15 minutes drive into Glastonbury.

The owners live right next door and are very friendly and helpful.

We only stay for 3 nights but wish we could have been there for longer. I would love to return one day and would stay longer next time. I definitely recommend this cottage, it is one of the best I have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was absolutley beautiful
Liked least: Coming home :(
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We won't go into great detail suffice it to say we have stayed in many holiday cottages over the years and this place is the best we have stayed at. We had a lovely comfortable super king bed with down quilt and cotton sheets. There was a great large 40in tv which we find such a plus for nights in and a huge kitchen breakfast room and lovely bathroom. We will definitely be going back and last but not least the owners were very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic bed, Large TV Super kitchen and bathrom
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathymarc...
Perth, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful and tranquil!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The farmhouse was just beautiful and was able to accomodate myself, a friend, my 4 children aged 20,16,5 and3 and my elderly father. It was very clean, maintained and the house was equipped with everything you could possibly need. It is down a small quiet road and it is situated in a very peaceful surroundings, but also very close to many of the area attractions. There is nothing bad i can say about the farmhouse or anything about this property. I highly recommend the Walnut Cottage.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallarta1...
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, magic and definitely a five star cottage!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We were a couple traveling with two teenager through England, Ireland and Scotland and we all voted that Walnut Cottage was the best of all the places. The location in the countryside is beautiful, but close enough to get to Glastonbury and other areas. The cottage was absolute perfect, every detail has been though out with all the comfort that you get in five star hotel. The garden is beautiful and the owners were very gracious and helpful. We want to go back and stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$162
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing