We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #19 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Without a doubt this was the best accommodation we ever stayed in, inclusive of both England and Ireland. Debbie and Lou are excellent hosts and we received a warm welcome and they made our stay both comfortable and relaxing. This house is of the highest standard and it is obvious that Debbie and Lou takes great pride in their business and run an excellent bed and breakfast. We hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardnagreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 202 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have stayed here numerous times, the last being February 2014 for my birthday. When we get there we are treated like long lost friends and enjoy the homely environment that Debbie, Lou and Julia have created. I like the shoeless environment, the decor, the breakfast banter and the amount of breakfast choice you have. It pains me to see people criticise the most pointless of issues, to which i would say if you want faceless, drab boring and underwhelming the go stay at the travelodge down the road. We have stayed in all the rooms at some point or other and would fight for a night in the abbey view. We always sleep with the window and shutters open so we get the beautiful views when we wake...so looking forward to staying here again in June...the negative comments that people have drafted on here is laughable and doesnt warrant a response as it is obvious that debbie and lou will go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay is comfortable and nigh on perfect.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Debbie welcomed us by name on arrival and from that moment on we felt like "wanted and appreciated " guests in Debbie and Lou's stunning home. From little touches like help yourselves to fresh milk from the kitchen, to recommendations for restaurants ( we dined at the market house which was very good and reasonable) our stay was total comfort, pleasure and delight for the senses. Spotless accommodation, luxurious beds and bedding, we'll equipped room - ours had twin beds a desk a comfy sofa, wardrobe, underfloor heating in the ensuite, flat screen tv etc etc , not to mention the hospitality tray which featured ground coffee for the cafetiere, various teas, biscuits and hot chocolate. Plus wineglasses in case you fancied a tipple in the room. Slept really well, and then the breakfast - this didn't disappoint either. Locally sourced quality bacon and bangers, obvious free range eggs and the fresh fruit granola stack was a real treat. Debbie, I don't know how you do it. Haven't left a review before but can't stop wishing I was still there.
Just to say if you get chance to see the starlings murmur action at shapwick Heath nearby, it's awesome. Thanks for a perfect stay, hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This B&B is excellently run by Debbie, Julia and Lou. The rooms are spectacular, the beds comfy, the hospitality tray very generous. The breakfast was delicious and locally sourced. This B&B is very central for Glastonbury Town. We stayed for the Frost Fayre, which was marvellous in itself. We often stay in Glastonbury and, hand on heart, can thoroughly recommend this B&B. Alongside the wonderful comfort and service, Debbie gives excellent advice for visitors.
We shall come and stay again. Lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building have spectacular views of Glastonbury Abbey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joballengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We managed to get a room last minute due to a cancellation, on our one night visit to see Glastonbury Carnival. I wish we could have stayed longer. The Room was fantastic, clean and beautifully decorated. The bed was amazing! The hospitality tray was the best I’ve seen and the host, Debbie was so welcoming and friendly (even letting us use her private bathroom on quick trips to the toilet during the carnival) will defiantly be staying again and would recommend to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loulou281084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We've been to Glastonbury many times, but always stayed in hotels until this visit. We were made extremely welcome by Debbie and Lou when we stayed here for 3 nights in the Church View twin room. The room is spotless, very light and airy and quiet at night being at the back of the building. The beds are very comfortable, having memory foam mattress toppers on both. It has a huge bathroom and the best stocked amenity tray that I've seen in any UK hotel. Breakfast was taken in the large kitchen diner, sharing a large table with the other guests. The choice of food was more than adequate with a surprisingly extensive choice for a B & B. The cooked breakfast was fresh and delicious, but special mention must go to the granola and yoghurt compote - a Debbie special! I would definitely recommend Magdalene House and will stay there next time we return to Glastonbury.

Room Tip: Very quiet at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tally123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived at Magdalene House and was pleased that it was so close to the town centre and the shops! The room was beautifully furnished and the bed was to die for...slept so well! The breakfast was faultless and was perfect on both mornings of our stay. What set Magdalene House apart from the rest was the welcome from Debbie and Lou. We were made to feel part of their home and the service was outstanding throughout. We would definitely recommend Magdalene House to friends who may wish to visit Glastonbury and likewise we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcclane1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
0.2 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
471 reviews
0 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#2 of 53 in Glastonbury
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spirals Bed & Breakfast
Spirals Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 53 in Glastonbury
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Glastonbury Townhouse
The Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 53 in Glastonbury
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brookshill House B&B
Brookshill House B&B
#14 of 53 in Glastonbury
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalene House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalene House Guest Accommodation

Address: Magdalene House Magdalene Street, Glastonbury BA6 9EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range: $126 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalene House Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our spacious family run Grade II listed period home which once formed part of the St. Louis Convent and has many historical connections with the town of Glastonbury. Its unique location opposite Glastonbury Abbey overlooking the Abbey grounds is only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the High Street which has many Unique Shops and Cafe Bars. Glastonbury Tor and Chalice Well are an easy walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magdalene House Guest Accommodation Glastonbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing