We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorns Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Hawthorns Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 54 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

lots of different home made currys taste delicious worth eating there good service friendley staff worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank michelle874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    62
    19
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Friendly service with atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday evening and both of us had salad starters, i had somerset brie and husband had thai beef both excellent. I had fish and chips - lovely tasty fish, and large portion. Husband had steak cooked to perfection. I thought limited choice of puddings, but the chocolate pud was good. I would go back and hear they have live music nights too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClareAHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Some of the food is excellent and some only so-so. My friends who had the curries raved about them. I've eaten here several times as part of a group, and would do so again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainbow_Fury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
279 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Glastonbury is always a little different and this place serves up some very different and interesting dishes.
Dont know what the hotel is like but if you like curries then you will love this place especially on their specials night!
Nice atmosphere as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank digipicsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really clean homely place friends caring staff rooms are warm and comfortable and my bed was excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

is welcoming!
its sunshine beams
out across the Tor
its family rooms are generous
and a great place to explore
Glastonbury’s magic, and esoteric desires
antiquarian relics and meta physical eyes
its unique individuals
that mingle in the streets
to Avalon and Wicca and other
such retreats
a vast array of local works
hang on the orange walls
the aroma of the kitchen permeates
the halls
Simon sports his apron
what a wonderful demeanour
nothing’s too much trouble
he creates this thoughtful bubble
surrounded by the wizards of Athena

Simon Sturt is really a marvellous host his staff are thoughtful and kind they serve good food and wines they have a nice fire and the rooms are warm and spacious and very clean and tidy. My bed was so comfortable! and its so convenient for everwhere

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rextyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawthorns Hotel, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to Hawthorns Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing