We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage, clean, cosy and warm”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Priory Cottage

Priory Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Priory Cottage
Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Priory Cottage
Lounge
Kitchen
lounge
bedroom 1
bathroom
bedroom 2
en suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dunster, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
breninken...
nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage, clean, cosy and warm”
Reviewed March 31, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

Just back from a delightful stay here. Cottage is handily located for pottering round Dunster, with a useful parking space just outside the door (as long as your car is small!) Clean, cosy and warm, the owners are extremely helpful and organised, and the house well stocked with tea, coffee, washing up stuff etc. We took a large Golden Retriever who was very comfy here and even had a stock of biscuits left out for her. Was initially disappointed that the fire was gas rather than wood fuelled, but it was really effective and much less hassle than lighting up. Would definitely recommend this place, deceptively large and will easily sleep 4.

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really hope to see you again soon. Really pleased you entourage stay in Exmoor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W
Birmingham UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent pet friendly home from home!”
Reviewed November 7, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Thank you for a lovely short break in your lovely cottage. The cottage is in a fantastic location in the village with lots of dog friendly pubs! The cottage is very well equipped and very tastefulluy decorated. The location is great for visiting the area of Exmoor. Thanks so much for the lovely welcome of cream teas, chocolates and milk - greatly appreciated after our journey. We will certainly recommend PRIORY COTTAGE and plan a return visit.

Thanks again

Mark and Sarah Ward

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay in Exmoor and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2019
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TWorcs
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely spacious cottage with parking and extremely lovely, helpful owner”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

In Dunster with own decent size parking space just of the main street going through the town. 3 level spacious and comfortable cottage, clean tidy and has all the amenities required.

The owner is extremely lovely to deal with and was extremely understanding and helpful following an issue of my fault regarding the booking.

Extra bonus that due to the cottage location and surrounding buildings only noticed the church bells, so faintly in the distance a couple of times through the whole week that we were there, not an issue at all.

Thoroughly recommend and will only book here when returning to Dunster, if available.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. It was our absolute pleasure and we would love to welcome you back again if you are in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathfinde...
1 review
“Perfect short break”
Reviewed June 13, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We recently stayed for four nights with our Cavalier King Charles Spaniel and could quite easily have stayed longer.
The cottage is charming; very clean and comfortable. The location is superb. In the midst of the village but in an off road location. Within a stones throw of the church. The bells do chime very regularly but you quickly become used to them. A big advantage is parking. We were able to park our Audi A3 on the allocated parking space right outside the cottage without any issues. Dunster is a charming village, very dog friendly with lots of walks and everyone is so welcoming. Sarah the owner is on hand if you have any queries and is keen to please. She also left wonderful scones, jam and cream. Also a bottle of milk and flavoured water in the fridge. A lovely welcome on arrival. I wouldn’t hesitate in booking a further stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Exmoor and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieS202...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage - we loved it !”
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Fabulous cottage !

The directions and pre-arrival details from Sarah (the owner) were great and we found it in the dark without any problems. Great location for exploring Dunster village, and was ideal for the wedding we came to at the church / Tithe Barn. A real bonus having a private parking space too. Inside felt larger in real life compared to the photographs which was a pleasant surprise when we arrived. Lovely and clean and warm, a nice homely feel to the place.

It had everything we needed.

The children (ages 5 and 7) were thrilled to be staying in "a three layered house" and it was ideal having two bathrooms.

What a find ! Highly recommended. We must arrange a return visit !

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_75...
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is one of the best places I have stayed with my dog, cottage is perfect with everything you need and feels like ‘home’ for however long you stay. Very dog friendly and area is great for walks from the front door. Sarah as a host is very efficient and always contactable if you need.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Second time you have stayed with us and once again an absolute pleasure. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing