We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only had lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Foresters Arms

Foresters Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foresters Arms
Ranked #8 of 12 Dunster B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Only had lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just popped in for lunch, and found the place to be really friendly, all the "locals" had a chat as well as the boss. The food was good too, we just had baguettes with chips, but it all tasted fresh and good.
We would have no hesitation about going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_at_the_seaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pom in oz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and our two dogs came to stay here for a week to have a bit of a walking holiday and to see the sights. We have visited Dunster before but never stayed at the Foresters Arms and thought it would be perfect if we wanted a pet friendly and comfortable place to stay. We weren't disappointed.

The pub has a historic character and our room was spacious, clean and comfy. We had a tasty and welcome breakfast from Pat the Landlady or Mike every morning who were happy to cater for our individual needs. After a days activities we looked forward to a drink in the bar with Colin and Nelson the parrot who voiced his thoughts on us and the other patrons from time to time.

All the staff were brilliant company and were happy to help whenever they could offering advice on where to walk, what beer to drink and other places to eat. Food at the pub itself is also great with a wide menu selection available.

The pub is close to loads of fantastic walks whether you want an easy stroll or a challenging hike. You are a few minutes walk into the centre of the town and there is a bus stop right outside the pub.

We can't wait to come back to Dunster and to stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingyWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay here, just popped in for a drink. This was a dingy pub, with a limited range of ales, although the quality was good. The service was poor, though; the woman showed no interest in her potential new customer (me!) and I felt like I really didn't matter. The patio outside was in great need of TLC; cramped, dirty and crumbling, with no view except for a courtyard where a few cars were parked. Overall, a forgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tisharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel previously for a wedding at Dunster and Pat was so friendly it made us want to stay again.

We wanted to visit Butlins with the children. This is literally a five minute drive way. I find there is so much to do in Dunster and they have the nicest park I have seen just over the road from this pub.

After 2 visits I have still not done Dunster beach or the castle. As a mum of a 4 and 8 year old I am loathed to stay anywhere too peaceful. This was exactly the type of place we needed. Despite being above a pub the rooms were quiet. pat and Colin were as lovely as we remembered they were and the breakfast was lovely. The price versus the service means I have given this 5 stars.

Thank you Pat and Colin - see you next year x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

A lovely stay. We enjoyed a great dinner and breakfast here and a very comfortable night. The pub is charming and historic and hosts genuinely friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for better end to our holiday. The breakfast chef gave us super advice about walks in the area at breakfast which topped off the day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goMTBgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned from a short break with our Son, Daughter in law and two Grandchildren. We have been to the Foresters before and once again we were not disappointed. This is a very friendly Inn and Pat and Colin go out of their way to make you welcome. The food is good and plentyful, and the breakfast second to none with all tastes catered for ( the breakfast chef even brought us in some black pudding from home on our second day as we said that we liked it ). The rooms, although basic, are clean and comfortable and the price very reasonable so overall this makes the Foresters excellent value for money. We will certainly use it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Local draft cider, delicious local ham with eggs and chips and peas, the day's special liver bacon and onions in rich gravy with potatoes and peas, golden syrup sponge pudding with custard, super ice cream...this is classic old school fare without today's chi chi twists and turns and we loved it. A mix of locals and visitors to the wonderful time warp that is Dunster, situated at the end of the village (beyond the castle and the church) with nearby public car park, a traditional pub (plus espresso coffee machine, music, green baize table etc) with a welcome, and the chef came out to say hello. DOGS WELCOME! Not just tolerated, or banned as in most (daft) establishments. - gosh, in France you can take dogs into most eateries without demur - our unobtrusive beagle was noticed and given her own handful of dog biscuits - nice touch.

Room Tip: We just ate - did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clivenlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#7 of 12 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 12 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresters Arms

Property: Foresters Arms
Address: Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Foresters Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing