We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better website than pub”
Review of Foresters Arms

Foresters Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foresters Arms
Ranked #7 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Better website than pub”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The website was very professional and because it was literally over the road from our cottage we decided to frequent for a few beers and a pub meal, reasonably priced food and drink and a lovely bar person/waitress/table waiter etc was run off her feet, and sadly things go wrong, badly wrong. The Mosquitos were bad enough but three off us eating scampi or steak had ours about 30 minutes before the other three, when questioned the young server was so apologetic because she had made a mistake! Well I am not surprised or indeed would not blame her. Our opinion is that it was good for a beer but the food was bland, deep fried from cheap frozen stuff (scampi) the steak whilst edible came with rock hard peas and warmed up chips, the pasta bake was okay. The Foresters is very pet friendly and to honest they were busy, but the quality was poor and the poor girl was running around like mad

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We didn't stay at the Foresters Arms but went their for dinner a couple of evenings during our stay in Dunster. The food was tasty and wholesome. Landlord and staff are friendly and helpful. Pub does have a juke box and pool table too. Allows dogs. Recommend to anyone who doesn't want to pay the over priced food in some other places in the village.

Room Tip: Scrummy food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great place to stay in a lovely location. Good old fashioned pub based B & B. Clean and comfortable and staff very friendly. The pub is cosy and relaxing and does great food. Also Dog friendly and the location is fantastic. If you've never been to Dunster then put it on your list. Lovely olde worlde village, castle and grounds are well worth a visit. We stopped on the way to North Devon, great stopping off and walking area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewS1969_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The room was super, looked out over the village and a lovely meadow opposite. Colin was really entertaining and a great barman, the breakfast was great and we felt really welcome. I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the large room at the top of the pub and it had a super outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidmothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

once again a fab time wish we could have staid longer, colin was a perfect host and we enjoyed every bit.thanks xxx

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAKELADY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed earlier this month whilst attending a friends wedding and found the Foresters Arms to be perfect for our needs. The real gem though was Pat who made us and our small baby feel very welcome so much so we stayed another night. She could not have done any more for us. Thank you to Pat and her team.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I stayed at the Foresters arms in October 2010 with my husband. It was a cold winter but the roaring fire in the bar area kept us lovely and toastie. I had a fab time, the staff were nice but the landlady was lovely, She couldn't have went out of her way enough. The homemade lasagne was to die for, I cant wait to have some more when I visit again in May. I would recommend it to anyone but word to the posh, If your looking for champaign, strawberrys and a four poster bed this lovely little find isn't for you!! Just us real people.. Thank you Pat and Colin. See you soon.x

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmillsGlasgowuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunster hotels
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunster
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#6 of 11 in Dunster
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#4 of 11 in Dunster
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#3 of 11 in Dunster
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresters Arms

Property: Foresters Arms
Address: Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Foresters Arms Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing