We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look No Further”
Review of Millstream Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millstream Cottage
Ranked #1 of 10 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

After staying for 2 nights in 2011, Millstream Cottage was a place that we knew we would return to.
We have just had our second perfect stay for 5 nights (never long enough) in October 2012.
From our 2 amazing hosts Sue and Charles, to the cosy lounge, country cottage comfy bedrooms, stunning homecooked breakfasts (the best baked mushrooms and tomatoes around which I am missing terribly) and home baked biscuits in our rooms, we wouldn't change a thing.
Dunster is a beautiful village that offers a lot in itself, and is well placed for great day trips out, that Sue and Charles are only too happy to help you plan....right down to printing off directions!
Our hosts also have a great knowledge of the best places to eat and will happily book for you.
Millstream Cottage is beautifully presented inside and out and so cosy.
But best of all are Sue and Charles, two people who are definitely in the right business and make you feel right at home.
Thanks for a wonderful stay (and for drying my raincoat).
Can't wait to visit Millstream Cottage again.
Helen & Janet from Melbourne, Australia.

Room Tip: Have stayed in all three rooms and all are equally well decorated and comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moodog11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Millstream Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 343 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night on 13th October and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. I had very high expectations from all the positive reviews but I am pleased to confirm they were all met. The B&B is a lovely cosy cottage and furnished to a very high standard. I agree with all the comments already made by previous reviewers about the welcoming hosts, attention to detail, personal touches and delicious breakfast. Sue was very helpful when my forgetful husband left his book behind and kindly posted it on to us. We look forward to visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but my personal preference is the red room (I like the decor).
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyannaplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A lovely place with excellent hospitality, from arriving until leaving, local restaurant booked for us , a lovely tea and homemade apple cake on arrival, a lovely room with nice little touches,very tastefully done with lovely homemade cookies, and a really lovely breakfast, and finally two wonderful hosts, nothing too much trouble,can't wait to return. Thank you for a very pleasant stay just wished it could have been longer . You are on our top 2 of guesthouses we have stayed in over our 39 years married life , the other one is in Yorkshire , so we will return next year being our ruby wedding celebrations. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Sue and Charles were the best hosts. You feel at home from the moment you arrive. the most beautiful rooms, homely tasteful furnishings, yummy homemade biscuits and apple cake on arrival, great breakfast - just perfect in every aspect. Sue is very helpful in recommending restaurants and how to find your way around. If we ever come back to this beautiful part of the world, we will definitely stay at Millstream Cottage again.
Niki, Siggi & Christa

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Millstream Cottage Sue & Charles were such warm and welcoming hosts. We were greeted with a huge slice of homemade apple cake and tea (delicious, thank you Sue!) and our room had yummy homemade biscuits in too! Sue also advised us of the best local restaurants and booked us a table at Hathaways; she is full of local knowledge and the cottage has plenty of information about the surrounding area should you require it.
Our bedroom was quaint and very tastefully decorated, very clean with a wonderfully comfortable bed - which we were most grateful for after a day walking and exploring Dunster Castle. The ensuite shower room was small but perfectly formed, and the shower was hot and powerful.
Breakfast is a lovely spread of dried fruit, yoghurt and fresh juices followed by a full English breakfast with locally sourced ingredients, served between 8.30 & 9, its perfect for filling you up ready to get out and explore the beautiful Exmoor. When we arrived the previous day we were informed that the gentleman leaving was the farmer dropping off the locally reared sausages for breakfast that morning!
Sue & Charles, thank you for the most wonderful stay - you have converted us to B&B's and we will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hattie88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This B&B is worth the trip to Dunster. Sue, makes every guest feel at home and truly loves to make your holiday the best possible. She went out of her way to make our trip a memorable one and we would return in a heartbeat. The cream tea that we received upon check in made all the travel worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am almost reluctant to leave this message, because once you have visited this wonderful B&B, you will want to return over and over and you just want to keep this discovery to yourself. Sue and Charles are the perfect hosts ~ you can tell that they are well travelled, because they understand the needs of the more discerning client, with attention to detail being evident everywhere. Our stay was faultless, from the wonderful breakfasts, sumptuous towels in the bathroom, white linen napkins and tablecloths ~ I could go on and on. Congratulations to them both ~ we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 10 in Dunster
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#3 of 10 in Dunster
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Cottage

Address: 2 Mill Lane, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range: $102 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millstream Cottage is full of charm and character. Newly renovated, it provides luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation with all the period features you would expect to find in a typical country cottage, such as old beams, pine doors, and large fireplaces complete with roaring log fires in the winter months. The atmosphere at Millstream Cottage is homely and welcoming, with all the rooms decorated in a clean, unfussy country style, with a touch of luxury. Sue's homemade biscuits are a treat in every room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millstream Cottage Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing