We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Millstream Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millstream Cottage
Ranked #1 of 9 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our second time at the mill stream and we just love it. We were made to feel very welcome and it felt just like home. Beautiful rooms, spotlessly clean and you get a big chunk of cake with a big teapot of tea on arrival.
The beds are comfortable and each room has plenty of tea and coffee and homemade cookies.
I cannot recommend this wonderful b&b highly enough.
We will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 345 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having stayed in a great many b and bs I have to put this at the top of list. Wonderful warm welcome and spotless, comfortable room. Attention to detail with homemade jams,biscuits and breakfast sausages is second to none. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Try the double with the red and white curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Brilliant!!! If visiting this wonderful village you must consider staying at the Millstream!.
Sue & Charles have a real passion for their well loved B & B! They have a really good knowledge of the area,places to visit,walks to do and best of all.....fantastic places to enjoy tea & cake!
Nothing is too much trouble and it is rare to find a place that makes you feel so much at home.
The guest sitting room is so comfortable (as are the bedrooms) Sue's Breaksfast is truely the best we have ever had.
If you've never been to Dunster....make the effort to go...such a lovely place,...google it and check it out. This was our first visit to Dunster...it wont be our last and we would stay at the Millstream again at the drop of a hat!
They totally deserve the excellent reviews on this site...but don't take our word for that.....TRY THE MILLSTREAM FOR YOURSELVES!!!
Jen & Nev....with thanks xx

Room Tip: room no 4 overlooks pretty garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here in August for 3 nights in king size room ... First of all the front garden is a lovely country cottage garden and a good 1st impression ... we were greeted at the front door by the lovely lady who owns and runs Millstream Cottage - Sue - V.warm welcome and V.helpful all through our stay, what Sue may not know about the area may well not be worth knowing.... Sue showed us to our room and we were not disappointed - the decor is in blue and white and the room is pristine clean - loads of storage and a V.comfortable bed - 2 singles linked together , but no gaps or ridges from the link up could be felt-- 3 nights of v.good sleep.. the bathroom had a lovely sized bath with shower over with good water pressure - the towels were excellent quality and size (real bath towels not big hand towels ) lots of extras - shoe shiners, clothes brush, small torch, hair dryer and toiletries not to mention the complimentary water and tea/coffee facilities plus Sues home made cookies ( yummy ) the creaky floorboards added to the character of the room... when we finished looking around we went down stairs to the guest lounge and sue greeted us with a lovely home made cream tea.... the breakfast was served in a lovely cosy room and the breakfasts were done to order (order given the night before ) lots to choose from including fresh fruit and cereals - cooked food done to perfection .... cannot fault Millstream Cottage -- pristine clean- Sue and her husband Charles were excellent hosts and we will be back and would have no hesitation in recommending to all friends...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

STAY HERE!!

Rooms - Good size, decorated in keeping with the age of the house but with a modern twist. Room was very clean and ensuite with nice touches like homemade biscuits.

Service - The owner was amazing, nothing was to much bother and she was warm and welcoming at all times.

Breakfast - Fresh fish, or Full English, both were lovely.

Location - At the bottom of the town of Dunster but a nice short walk to the main part of the town which was ideal for walking off dinner and drinks in the evening.

Price - Very good value for money considering the standard of the B+B.

Overall - Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend or revisit this great cottage.

Thank you for a great stay !!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PikeyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My partner and I were visting Somerset to see family. When somebody suggested staying Dunster we came across this B&B. We read the reviews and they were spot on. This B&B is seamless and very reasonably too. Rarely one to go back to the same place, I would make an exception here. Sue and Charles were wonderful hosts and certainly aced a masters in customer service. Thank you so much for an astonishly top class stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent 5days in July at Millstream cottage and cannot fault it for food cleanliness comfort and wonderful hospitality. We shall certainly return. The breakfast was incredible and Charlles and Susan so helpful and both had a wonderful knowledge of the area. Tony & Marion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunster hotels
0.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 9 in Dunster
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#4 of 9 in Dunster
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Cottage

Address: 2 Mill Lane, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range: $103 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millstream Cottage is full of charm and character. Newly renovated, it provides luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation with all the period features you would expect to find in a typical country cottage, such as old beams, pine doors, and large fireplaces complete with roaring log fires in the winter months. The atmosphere at Millstream Cottage is homely and welcoming, with all the rooms decorated in a clean, unfussy country style, with a touch of luxury. Sue's homemade biscuits are a treat in every room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millstream Cottage Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing