We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing - you definitely must stay here!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spears Cross

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spears Cross
Ranked #5 of 13 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing - you definitely must stay here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

This hotel is really spectacular! The building itself is something to behold - dating from the 1400s it's a truly stunning place to stay. The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful - every detail has been though of. Double showers, Penhaligons toiletries, Bose sound systems, flat screen TVs - the works - and very good value for money too. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating, allowing us to park our car in their drive way. Breakfast is something else as well - vast range of things on offer, all locally sourced, organic etc and wonderfully cooked. It's hard to praise this place enough. I think you get the message: you must stay here if you're ever seeking a lovely stay Dunster! Bravo!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmk226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
131
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

What can I say - my boyfriend did a fab job booking this place for a mini break - Cliff and Trisha are the best hosts - the attention to detail was astounding and yet the place felt very relaxed. It wont be long before I am back here - fabulous place for a relaxing weekend break or a get away with friends. I had the best breakfast ever here - this small hotel would easily beat the top hotels on standards. Dunster is beautiful - lots of nice walks, and the friendliest people!! Just a warning - you wont want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

Everything about SPears Cross is fantastic. My girlfriend and I stayed for one night in the Porlock room (highly recommended), and the only problme was that we couldn't stay longer.

Cliff and Tricia are wonderful hosts who take so much pride in everything they do. From the welcoming tea and cake, through to the small touches in the bedroom (including a VERY comfortable bed) and the locally sourced breakfast (highly recommended), it seems that no expense has been spared to provide you with an exclusive and fresh experience which will leave you completely relaxed when leaving.

We are planning a return trip in the near future with friends to actually explore a little more of Dunster and the surrounding Exmoor area. I'm certain that if every B and B matched the Spearscross standard then we'd all be off holidaying every weekend!

  • Liked — Pride and commitment of the owners to creating exceptional experience for guests
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rossi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2008

We stayed just for one night at this fabulous B & B prior to attending a wedding at a nearby venue. Cliff and Tricia welcomed us with tea and cake after a long and difficult journey and were very helpful about places to eat in Dunster. Our room could not have been bettered by a 5 star hotel, with lovely touches including Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy towels and dressing gowns. Breakfast was a masterpiece with options including creamy porridge and smoked haddock, as well as the traditional English with local sausages and other produce; everything was fresh and delicious and the service was impeccable. Our only regret was that we were not booked in for additional nights, but we will return........... Highly recommended.

  • Liked — All the little luxury touches
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, Merseyside
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

This was the last stop in a 4 stop trip around the West Country.

We certainly saved the best until the last.

This 5 star plus B & B is a rare find. Breakfasts were unique and a pleasure to eat.

Cliff and Trish are excellent hosts and their local knowledge is extensive and freely given.

We forgot our walking sticks and rucksack ......not a problem! ...Cliff kindly came to our rescue and gave us directions for a walk with superb views.

There are some excellent eateries in historic Dunster, but some are a little expensive, however Minehead is close by and widens the choice and price range.

If you are a very light sleeper then ear plugs will help as the local church bells will serenade you during the night .

We left Cliff and Trish, having purchased some of the delicious local jams from them, feeling happy, relaxed and having had excellent value for our money.

We hope to return again afore too long and we will recommend this wonderful establishment to our special friends.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjohnvmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#6 of 13 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 13 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Cross

Property: Spears Cross
Address: 1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spears Cross was built in 1460. It is one of the most atmospheric places to stay in Dunster. We have four generous sized rooms, comfortable lounge and a traditional linen tabled dining room. The quality of the beds, with 2262 springs, is what you would find in a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are crisp and we provide Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Panasonic flat screen TV and a Bose sound system are for your relaxation. We use local produce and are breakfasts are famed. Bacon is especially cured for us and Orange Juice is freshly squeezed each morning. We have a tea selection of over 20 teas. We offer attention to detail, quality and consistency of service worthy of our awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spears Cross Dunster, Somerset
Hotel Spears Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing