We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Spears Cross

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spears Cross
Ranked #4 of 10 Dunster B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Both Colin and I agree with everything that is said about Spears Cross, perfection!!! Where else would you be greeted with tea and cake on arrival and silver napkins holders at breakfast!! Tricia and Cliff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, everything is within easy reach of their hotel, and a glass of wine before we went out to dinner just capped the experience. We really should have asked for the marmalade and goosberry preserve to take home. It was delicious on their home made fruit bread. Perhaps another time, to be sure.
Colin & Wendy Lea

Room Tip: Room was double glazed no noise at all. Only the mobile call from my sister in law woke us up at 8...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Spears Cross
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We cannot speak highly enough of the hospitality shown to us by Cliff and Trish. The rooms are really well decorated and furnished with en-suite bathrooms. We stayed in the annex suite to the rear of the property which was fabulous. The decanter of massala wine left with chocolates, after your bed has been turned down, is a really thoughtful touch.

Dunster itself is a lovely place to visit, and Exmoor is a great place to explore on foot or by bike. Cliff is happy to recomend a number of local eateries, all of which are also excellent. All specialise in using local produce when possible.

The breakfasts at the Spears are becoming something of a legend, and justifyably so. The standard of produce is fantastic, and all cooked to perfection. The traditional English breakfast is more than enough to set you up for the day. All locally sourced food. I also really enjoyed the smoked haddock with poached eggs, whilst my wife had the smoked trout. Again, both fabulous.

With a good selection of wines and whiskeys if you desire in the evening, or fresh coffee and tea on tap accompanied by fresh baked cakes, your warm welcome is assured.

We will be back.

Room Tip: The annex is worth the extra money. Its like having an appartment/flat to yourself, with its own sep...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Right next to Dunster Castle, epic breakfasts with the best quality local ingredients (the black pudding was to die for), top notch rooms and a decanter of marsala to go to bed with. We could not have wished for a better place to stay exploring Exmoor, Linton, etc, and could not have been better looked after.

Room Tip: Hope you like church bells ! The Selworthy Suite faces the church - if you leave the windows open yo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sodworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Have recently returned from a short break at Spears Cross Hotel in the village of Dunster.
Cliff & Trish are excellent hosts,we were greeted with a pot of tea and delicious homemade cake which went down well after a long journey. The hotel throughout was spotless our bedrooms very comfortable a nice touch was having our beds " turned down" each night on our return. The breakfast was superb. Cliff was very helpful when we were deciding what to see & do locally. If you are reading this & thinking of Dunster as a place to go or as a stopover look no further than Spears Cross, we will definitely return sometime in the future

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned from a weekend break at Spears Cross Hotel. Excellent from start to finish, from the warm welcome complete with afternoon tea and cake, to the fabulous breakfast each morning. Dunster village is very quaint/if not sleepy at times, but there are several pub/hotels/restaurants offering good food. The West Somerset Railway is near by and Dunster Castle is almost next door to the Hotel with the Quantock Hills also within spitting distance. Many places are also dog friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The most difficult part of writing this review of our stay at Spears Cross was finding anything original to say after reading some of the other reviews for this establishment - it really has all been said before.
So I will simply suggest that if you wish to try something slightly different, something which goes beyond the run-of-the-mill, and wish to treat yourself 'just because you deserve it', try Spears Cross - you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Cliff and Trish, we really appreciated your hospitality.

Room Tip: The older part of the hotel faces the street. Expect creaky floorboards but great atmosphere.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Spears Cross last October at the end of a European holiday. We took a bit of a punt on Dunster and Spears Cross based on TA reviews.

Couldn't have been happier with our stay. Cliff and Trish were terrific hosts and the accommodation was comfortable and well located as well as historic.

Undoubtedly though, Cliffs helpfulness and hospitality were memorable. To be offerred a pint soon after our long drive was a winner and the recommendations for restaurants etc were good. The Spears Cross' award winning breakfasts were well deserved and just that little bit different. Cliff also spoiled us with a little after dinner tipple on our return which was beautiful. My wife had a taste of his cider!!

Also loved to talk wine with Cliff who obviously knows his stuff.

A great little spot in a beautiful part of England.

Room Tip: Our room was a larger room at the back not as historic as the front rooms but good. If you are keene...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbourneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunster hotels
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 10 in Dunster
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#5 of 10 in Dunster
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#3 of 10 in Dunster
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spears Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spears Cross

Address: 1 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spears Cross was built in 1460. It is one of the most atmospheric places to stay in Dunster. We have four generous sized rooms, comfortable lounge and a traditional linen tabled dining room. The quality of the beds, with 2262 springs, is what you would find in a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are crisp and we provide Penhaligon toiletries and fluffy bathrobes. Panasonic flat screen TV and a Bose sound system are for your relaxation. We use local produce and are breakfasts are famed. Bacon is especially cured for us and Orange Juice is freshly squeezed each morning. We have a tea selection of over 20 teas. We offer attention to detail, quality and consistency of service worthy of our awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spears Cross Dunster, Somerset
Hotel Spears Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing